Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2021, 02:50 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,613
Default [SOLVED] how to connect TC Clarity M

Hey Friends

We have a few TC Clarity M stereo and 5.1 units and I am trying to connect one to the CARBON but have no idea how to or how to configure the connections.

On our Apollo X series we had it on the sp/dif connector but Carbon doesn’t have that so how do I connect the TC Clarity M to the Carbon and do I meed to make any setups in i/o aswe never had to do that on our apollos.

Sorry for all the noob questions lately but we are producers and all our awesome interns who usually does all tech are not allowed here due to covid restrictions.

Thanks a million for a step by step. And please explain like I am a 5 yo
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2021, 06:53 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 696
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

The Clarity M should have a breakout cable and some bnc adapters that you would use to connect to your interface’s AES or SPDIF outputs. The problem is, Carbon does not have either of those outputs. It’s only analog or ADAT.

You could buy an ADAT to AES converter but that’s probably a $1000 investment you were not planning to make.

You might be better off using a software plug-in metering option.

Sorry to be the bearer of not so great news
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2021, 07:42 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,613
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Thank you for the info good or bad

So you are saying that without paying like $1000 to make it work for a unit that is like $300 is the only way?

I hoped we could use it via digital in/out or on some other connection as it is a pretty expensive interface … so this is now a doorstop if i dont use it with our apollo’s .. sorry for sounding not polite but thats not meant to be so. I am just in awe that i cant use any of the 5-6 connectors that comes with the TC Clarity in a 4000 dollar interface when i can ise it with a focusrite my neighbour has for 300 dollars!!


So none of the digital or analog connections would work on this expensive interface?

PS. What about Optical port on the Carbon as clarity has that and an USB option with a plugin to work the unit if you cant reqch it is from your sweetspot?

Here is some info from TC:

CLARITY M provides a wealth of digital connectivity. Unbalanced AES3 (coaxial) and S/P DIF are available right out of the box, and optional adapters enable you to connect standard AES/EBU with ease. Additionally, you can use the TOSLink* port for optical input and the USB connection to work seamlessly with your favorite DAW.


Source inputs come in a vast array of options including: USB for hassle-free VST*, Audio Units* and AAX* plug-in metering; 6 channels of unbalanced AES3 digital audio on 75 Ohm BNC connectors for broadcast-grade 5.1 metering; and stereo optical for maximum fl exibility. CLARITY M is fully compliant with all major broadcast standards including ITU BS.1770-4, ATSC A/85, EBU R128, TR-B32 and OP-59, and is recommended for all studio environments.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2021, 08:06 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 696
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Unfortunately the optical on the Carbon is ADAT. The optical into the Clarity is s/pdif. The two are not compatible.

The good news is you can use the Clarity via USB to your host computer and insert the Clarity M plug-in to you DAW of choice and use it that way.

The original post said you wanted to connect it to your Carbon and you’re limited by the choice of outputs the Carbon has vs the physical inputs of the Clarity.

Here’s some info on using the Clarity in Plug-in mode

https://mediadl.musictribe.com/media...Y%20M_M_EN.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2021, 08:26 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,613
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Unfortunately the optical on the Carbon is ADAT. The optical into the Clarity is s/pdif. The two are not compatible.

The good news is you can use the Clarity via USB to your host computer and insert the Clarity M plug-in to you DAW of choice and use it that way.

The original post said you wanted to connect it to your Carbon and you’re limited by the choice of outputs the Carbon has vs the physical inputs of the Clarity.

Here’s some info on using the Clarity in Plug-in mode

https://mediadl.musictribe.com/media...Y%20M_M_EN.pdf
Thank you soo much! Yeah I would love to have it connected to Carbon but i will try the usb option and see how that works.

Great info! Thank you soo much
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2021, 09:44 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,468
Default Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Thank you soo much! Yeah I would love to have it connected to Carbon but i will try the usb option and see how that works.

Great info! Thank you soo much

Hey Chris.

Didn’t we go through this already in another thread? Pretty sure we all suggested this stuff for you over there as well.

Either way, using the USB input is definitely how you’ll have to integrate it with Carbon due to the Optical limitation.

Unless there’s a specific reason why you want to do it post interface, it should work out fine for you.

I actually think those meters are great, especially for the price. Been wanting to grab one for a while but never seem to get round to it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2021, 08:00 AM
digiot digiot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 358
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Thank you soo much! Yeah I would love to have it connected to Carbon but i will try the usb option and see how that works.

Great info! Thank you soo much
So now that you can configure the optical output for SPDIF, have you tried to see if the Clarity works !? Had been meaning to pick one up but since it didn’t work before I held off.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2021, 08:02 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,613
Default Can anyone do a step by step on using the optical as adat

Been trying to get our two TC Clarity M stereo units working now when the Optical ports on Carbon is supposed to work as adat/spdif and I connected one optican from the TC to Carbon optical port and I dont know where to change the settings in the software and or PTultimate as I cant get the TC to get a connection green light. Been called by support but as time difference seem to be 9 hrs we were in the middle of tracking so my phone wasn’t even on so I really understand why people get green in their face grying to get and help with a 4000 dollar interface and mind you we bought 2 Carbon and with conversion it is about 9700-10.000 USD for both so please can eddie or someone else who knows this help please!? Been helping you (Avid) for 8-9 years so Think I am entitled to 5 minutes of your time?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2021, 08:42 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,455
Default Re: Can anyone do a step by step on using the optical as adat

TC Clarity M stereo only accepts SPDIF signal (not ADAT)

To change what the Carbon is sending, in Pro Tools, go to Hardware Setup, Optical I/O page.



Switch this to S/PDIF
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2021.10, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • S1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-10-2021, 04:45 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,613
Default Re: Can anyone do a step by step on using the optical as adat

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
TC Clarity M stereo only accepts SPDIF signal (not ADAT)

To change what the Carbon is sending, in Pro Tools, go to Hardware Setup, Optical I/O page.



Switch this to S/PDIF
Thanks Kyle aswell but it says N/A in both the left boxes so can change the right ones but the two left boxes says N/A whatever I set the left ones to (Adat/Spdif)

So what is what might be wrong here?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TC Clarity X antonis Post - Surround - Video 0 05-02-2018 10:32 AM
TC Clarity M priorytools Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 1 09-08-2016 02:10 PM
Is anyone using Clarity X? antonis Post - Surround - Video 0 03-08-2016 07:15 AM
Mic clarity bannerj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-21-2004 10:07 AM
Clarity in mixes citi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 29 06-20-2002 11:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com