Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2023, 02:29 PM
livstone livstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: N.Y.C.
Posts: 289
Default Trouble using Mackie Control Universal in Pro Tools 10

I am having some issues using my Mackie Control Universal in my Pro Tools 10HD system. I set up this system over the last couple of years moving up from a Mix24 system on a G4. When my Stealth serial port went bad I figured it was time to move up a bit and bought a 2010 Mac Pro and some Pro Tools 192 Interfaces along with Avid Midi I/O the HD cards.

After setting up everything I seem to be having only partial communication with the Mackie Control Universal. I am able to start and stop and get the time info so the right side with the transport controls work but all of the fader section is not communicating at all. I get no movement or control and no mute, pan or display info above the faders section.

I tried the MCU on a friends system and it worked perfectly on his older system with no issues. I then tried different midi cables and that did not fix the issue.

Does any one have any idea what I may be missing to set this up properly?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2023, 08:19 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,382
Default Re: Trouble using Mackie Control Universal in Pro Tools 10

I might be wrong, but I thought Pro Tools only worked with Eucon and HUI, but not MCU?
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2023, 11:38 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,819
Default Re: Trouble using Mackie Control Universal in Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I might be wrong, but I thought Pro Tools only worked with Eucon and HUI, but not MCU?
The MCU has a HUI mode.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2023, 11:33 AM
livstone livstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: N.Y.C.
Posts: 289
Default Re: Trouble using Mackie Control Universal in Pro Tools 10

Yes it does use HUI mode and that's what is set in the Pro Tools prefs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2023, 11:45 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,819
Default Re: Trouble using Mackie Control Universal in Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by livstone View Post
Yes it does use HUI mode and that's what is set in the Pro Tools prefs.
Can you detail what you have set in Peripherals->MIDI Controllers?
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-26-2023, 12:52 PM
Muziekschuur Muziekschuur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 44
Default Re: Trouble using Mackie Control Universal in Pro Tools 10

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OqpCsvFEGE
__________________
BAG END gives THE BEAT!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mackie Control Universal Pro/Extender with Pro tools 10 Issues. Tonato17 Pro Tools 10 6 04-07-2014 12:27 PM
BCF2000 with Mackie Universal Control on Pro Tools 10? jakedavis Pro Tools 10 5 01-04-2013 08:20 AM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 06:12 AM
Mackie Control Universal??? sethbrand Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 04-17-2007 04:07 PM
mackie universal control with pro tools 6.2.3 muscmp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-26-2004 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com