Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2011, 11:21 AM
fannar182 fannar182 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Iceland
Posts: 8
Unhappy Windows 7 (64bit) + Digi002 = Blue Screen ! HELP

Hey guys, i have Windows 7, Pro Tools 8.0 and Digi 002 rack. I bought my Digi002 used today ( had been using Mbox2 for a while ) but when i connect it and open my Pro Tools the computer goes to Blue Screen and restarts.

My computer didn't have a firewire port so i bought this Manhattan Firewire PCI card and installed on my computer. It works as the green led on the Digi 002 is on.

What could be the problem ? I'm desperate to get this thing working ! Please help me.

Here's my computer specs :

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : MSI MS-7623
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Tolva-PC
User : Tolva

Processor
Model : AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
Speed : 3GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 64kB, Synchronous, Write-Back, 2-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size
L2 Cache : 2x 1MB, ECC, Synchronous, Write-Back, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size

Computer
Mainboard : MSI 880GM-E41 (MS-7623)
BIOS : AMI (OEM) V11.5 08/10/2010
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 7.5GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : AMD RS780/880 Host Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2GHz (4GHz)
Shared Memory : 512MB
Channels : 1
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 100MHz (200MHz)

Chipset
Model : AMD F10 Athlon 64/Opteron/Sempron HT Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2GHz (4GHz)
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR3
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 533MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Corsair VS2GB1333D4 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Corsair VS2GB1333D4 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Corsair VS2GB1333D3 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Corsair VS2GB1333D3 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-24 5-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 4250 (40 SM4.1 560MHz, 512MB 1GHz 32-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor
STREAM GP Processor : ATI Radeon HD 4250 (40SP 560MHz, Integrated Graphics)

Storage Devices
WDC WD10EARS-00Y5B1 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5") : 932GB (C:) (D:)
WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0 (2TB, USB2/SATA300, 3.5") : 2TB (F:)
TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223C (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 49GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD10EARS-00Y5B1 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5")
Fannar 2 TB (F:) : 2TB (NTFS) @ WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0 (2TB, USB2/SATA300, 3.5")
Hard Disk (D:) : 883GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD10EARS-00Y5B1 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5")
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223C (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-R, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : MSI IXP SB600/700/800 SMBUS Controller
LPC Hub Controller 2 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 LPC host controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T0 07-23
Audio Device : MSI IXP SB600 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : VIA 4441h
Audio Device : ATI (AMD) RS880 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4200]
Audio Codec : ATI (AMD) HDMI Audio
Serial Port(s) : 2
Parallel Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : MSI SB700/800 SATA Controller [IDE mode]
Disk Controller : MSI SB700/800 IDE
USB Controller 1 : MSI SB700/800 USB OHCI0 Controller
USB Controller 2 : MSI SB700/800 USB OHCI1 Controller
USB Controller 3 : MSI SB700/800 USB EHCI Controller
USB Controller 4 : MSI SB700/800 USB OHCI0 Controller
USB Controller 5 : MSI SB700/800 USB OHCI1 Controller
USB Controller 6 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB EHCI Controller
USB Controller 7 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB OHCI2 Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : VIA VT6306 VIA Fire II IEEE-1394 OHCI Link Layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : ATI SB700 SMBus

Network Services
Network Adapter : Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20) (Ethernet)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 3.7

Performance Enhancing Tips
Warning 100 : Large memory sizes should be made of Registered/Buffered memory.
Tip 2546 : Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2011, 12:33 PM
dobro dobro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit) + Digi002 = Blue Screen ! HELP

try uninstal pro tools 8 in windows safe mode , then restart the computer log in to your( my Avid acound) then download Pro tools 8.0.4 or 8.0.5 ( newest )this one is 64 bit
hope that works
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2011, 03:33 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,381
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit) + Digi002 = Blue Screen ! HELP

Just because you bought a firewire card, doesn't mean it will work. It MUST have a TI chipset on it. Most of the Siig cards are good choices there. Then there is the old power harness issue, so it would be nice if there was a way for you to verify that the 002 works on somebody else's rig so you don't chase your tail. Regarding the PC, I don't know much about the AMD side of the world, but integrated graphics are often a deal breaker with Pro Tools(is this a laptop or a desktop machine?). Also, you NEVER connect the 002/003 firewire while the computer is turned on as it can(and often DOES) fry the firewire board in the 002(an easy $300+ repair for a unit that's worth.............$300+) BTW, if its a desktop computer, you may be able to solve the integrated graphics issue by adding an inexpensive ATI grahics card and disabling the onboard graphics in BIOS. Hopefully another AMD fan can offer better advice on that.
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2011, 10:54 AM
pauljason90 pauljason90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NW - USA
Posts: 1
Default Re: Windows 7 (64bit) + Digi002 = Blue Screen

If you can start Windows,System Restore is the easiest thing to try first. It can undo recent changes to your computer's system files that might have caused the problem. System Restore doesn't affect your personal files, such as e‑mail, documents, or photos.

More information: http://www.techyv.com/questions/blue...rror-windows-7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 8, Windows 7, Blue Screen dxdotson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-20-2012 02:18 PM
Blue Screen and AMD Windows 7 PC yagga121 Windows 5 02-28-2012 08:34 AM
Blue screen with Digi002 Metalstream 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 12-09-2010 04:45 AM
i7 and Windows 7 blue screen of death beallstreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-08-2010 02:47 PM
PT 8.0.3 + P6TD Deluxe + Intel i7 + Win7 64bit - Blue Screen (Solved). Hemophagus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-09-2010 09:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com