Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2009, 01:34 AM
4times4mil 4times4mil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: No Calif. Bay Area
Posts: 201
Default Mackie Control Universal Pro

What's up guys...This one has me stumped...I just picked up a Mackie Control Universal Pro. I choose the Mackie because of it's optional fader extenders. I have it connected to the PC via USB to USB. Every 5 to 7 seconds I get: “Pro tools is unable to communicate with HUI. Power-cycle HUI and check it’s connections. Note, if HUI is not in use, update the peripherals dialog to prevent further warnings.” When this happens, communication with the controller is broken. When I click okay on the error message, communication is restored until the next error pop up. So I was wondering if it would be better to connect the mackie to the PC via midi to USB. I'm also running a lot of waves plugins and some sony oxford plugins. Before this my system has been pretty solid where stability is concerned. Please help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2009, 06:13 AM
paulreed paulreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: kill devil hills, north carolina
Posts: 460
Default Re: Mackie Control Universal Pro

did you set it up in your peripherals? If not you need to go to set up>peripherals>midi controllers and go to #1 "type" change it to HUI, then you should be able to set your "send to" and "receive from" to see the unit.....if it is not an option you may need to re-install the drivers/software and then try it again.

I do not have the mackie surface but do have a frontier designs tranzport and it used the same protocol...hope this gets you going

Intel Q9650, Asus P5Q Deluxe, 4 gigs Corsair Dominator 1066 RAM, 2x Asus 256MB fanless video cards, 3x W.D. 320 gig SATA drives, 2x 250 gig removable backup drives, I-Star 400-6Q case, Sony Lightscribe DVD, Noctua fans, I-Star 580 watt power supply, ADS Pyro Firewire, Scythe Ninja Heatsink, Kensington Expert Mouse, Logitech Trakball, 4x video monitors
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2009, 10:33 AM
4times4mil 4times4mil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: No Calif. Bay Area
Posts: 201
Default Re: Mackie Control Universal Pro

I did set it up in the peripherals and and it should be okay but something is causing it to lose contact? The manual says the drivers install automatically which they did when I connected it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2009, 11:32 AM
paulreed paulreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: kill devil hills, north carolina
Posts: 460
Default Re: Mackie Control Universal Pro

maybe try re-installing the software and check the mackie web site to see if you have the version that plays best with the version of pro tools you use

Intel Q9650, Asus P5Q Deluxe, 4 gigs Corsair Dominator 1066 RAM, 2x Asus 256MB fanless video cards, 3x W.D. 320 gig SATA drives, 2x 250 gig removable backup drives, I-Star 400-6Q case, Sony Lightscribe DVD, Noctua fans, I-Star 580 watt power supply, ADS Pyro Firewire, Scythe Ninja Heatsink, Kensington Expert Mouse, Logitech Trakball, 4x video monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2009, 12:45 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: Mackie Control Universal Pro

Can you give us more info on your system? WinXP? Vista? Which version of Pro Tools are you running? Etc, etc...

See the Help Us Help You thread for details about what we need to know.

Quick tip - if you're on Vista try right-clicking on Pro Tools and choosing 'Run As Administrator', as it may fix the problem.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2009, 12:46 PM
First Coast Post First Coast Post is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Jacksonville Beach Fl
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mackie Control Universal Pro

Reverse the MIDI Cables
Been there Done that!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2009, 03:22 PM
4times4mil 4times4mil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: No Calif. Bay Area
Posts: 201
Default Re: Mackie Control Universal Pro

Not using midi cables. I'm using the USB cable that came with the MCUP. I've also gone through the optimization list. I had no idea how different it is from my last look at it. I am now creating the sandra report so that I can post it in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-30-2009, 03:27 PM
4times4mil 4times4mil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: No Calif. Bay Area
Posts: 201
Default Re: Mackie Control Universal Pro

Here's my System

SiSoftware Sandra

I'm running Pro tools 8.0.1 on a 002 rack
OS: Win XP Pro

System
Host Name: USER-9ABEF704CF
User: Owner
Workgroup: WORKGROUP

Processor
Model: Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Speed: 2.40GHz
Cores per Processor: 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core: 1 Unit(s)
Type: Quad-Core
Internal Data Cache: 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache: 2x 4MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

System
Main board: Intel Corporation DG965WH
Bus (es): PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support: No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC): Yes
System BIOS: Intel Corp. MQ96510J.86A.1729.2008.0326.0002
Total Memory: 3.25GB

Chipset
Model: Intel P965/G965 Memory Controller Hub
Front Side Bus Speed: 4x 266MHz (1.06GHz)

Video System
Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce 6200 TurboCache(TM) (64MB DDR, PCIe 1.00 x16, PS 3.0, VS 3.0)

Physical Storage Devices
HDT722525DLA380 250GB (SATA150, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 7MB Cache): 233GB (D :)
WDC WD740GD-00FLC0 74GB (SATA150, 8MB Cache): 69GB (C :)
WDC WD2500JB-00REA0 250GB (FireWire/1394, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ): 233GB (K :)
ST3500641AS 500GB (FireWire/1394, NCQ): 466GB (J :)
ST3500320AS 500GB (FireWire/1394, NCQ): 466GB (F :)
Foxconn CF USB2.0 Reade (USB): N/A (H :)
Foxconn SM USB2.0 Reade (USB): N/A (I :)
Foxconn SD USB2.0 Reade (USB): N/A (M :)
Foxconn MS USB2.0 Reade (USB): N/A (N :)

PIONEER DVR-113NP (ATAPI66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache): N/A (E :)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C :): 55GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD740GD-00FLC0 74GB (SATA150, 8MB Cache)
Recording (D :): 233GB (NTFS) @ HDT722525DLA380 250GB (SATA150, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 7MB Cache)
Back Up (K :): 233GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD2500JB-00REA0 250GB (FireWire/1394, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ)
Session Str (J :): 466GB (NTFS) @ ST3500641AS 500GB (FireWire/1394, NCQ)
Session Wrk (F :): 466GB (NTFS) @ ST3500320AS 500GB (FireWire/1394, NCQ)
CD-ROM/DVD (E :): N/A @ PIONEER DVR-113NP (ATAPI66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Removable Drive (H :): N/A @ Foxconn CF USB2.0 Reade (USB)
Removable Drive (I :): N/A @ Foxconn SM USB2.0 Reade (USB)
Removable Drive (M :): N/A @ Foxconn SD USB2.0 Reade (USB)
Removable Drive (N :): N/A @ Foxconn MS USB2.0 Reade (USB)
Removable Drive (G :): 2GB (FAT) @

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1: Intel 82801HH (ICH8DH) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Hub Controller 2: Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller
Parallel Port(s): 1
USB Controller 1: Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI #4
USB Controller 2: Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI #5
USB Controller 3: Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI #2
USB Controller 4: Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI #1
USB Controller 5: Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI #2
USB Controller 6: Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI #3
USB Controller 7: Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI #1
USB Controller 8: Acer (ALi/ULi) ALI M5237 OpenHCI USB Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1: TI TSB82AA2 IEEE-1394b Link Layer Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 2: Intel TSB43AB22 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/Link-Layer Controller
System SMBus Controller 1: Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Network Services
Network Adapter: Intel(R) PRO/100+ Dual Port Server Adapter #3 - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status: On-Line

Operating System(s)
Windows System: Microsoft Windows XP (2002) Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance: x86
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2009, 05:29 PM
northridgedave northridgedave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 174
Default Re: Mackie Control Universal Pro

This is just a stab in the dark, but it sound vaguely like a problem some folks were having with a Faderport earlier in the year.
Here's the last post in the series, perhaps it will have some application to your problem. I think that it happened to be from a French PT user doesn't matter, the solution does.

Re: problem with faderport and protools (french?) I hope this is OK to post here. I have been struggling to get Protools to recognize my Faderport. What I discovered was that, when I installed a Protools upgrade last year, it did not install the HUI driver. I found them in Digidesign download section and put the dll into the Controllers folder. Removed and reinstalled the Faderport software, rebooted and now it works fine. If you go to the peripherals/midi/controller section and see "none", this could be the problem. Hope this can help someone.

Good Luck,
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-30-2009, 05:38 PM
4times4mil 4times4mil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: No Calif. Bay Area
Posts: 201
Default Re: Mackie Control Universal Pro

Thanks Dave...After reading your reply I looked in the controllers folder and there is a HUI-Motormix dll in there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HDX and Mackie control universal pro Da Boss Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 02-04-2014 05:10 PM
Mackie Control Universal Pro--anyone use it? tabnetic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 04-22-2010 06:18 AM
Mackie Control Universal Pro 4times4mil 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-01-2009 04:58 AM
Mackie Control Universal with PT GreatCthulhu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-30-2008 04:24 AM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 06:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com