Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2005, 06:55 AM
rock15478 rock15478 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default Transferring Sessions

Hi, I have sessions that were recorded at another studio on an HD system. They were saved to DVD. I copied them to my hard drive and put them in the exact same folder as current Pro Tools sessions that I have recorded. I am running 6.9.2 LE on a G5. When I try to open one of the files, I get the message "Cannot open the selected file because Logical end-of-file reached (-39) while reading "(filename)"" Why is this? I need to finish editing these songs at my own studio..Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2005, 09:45 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: Transferring Sessions

You should make sure all the files have their proper extension (.pts, .wav, .aif, etc.). You should then be able to open them as normal.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2005, 12:12 PM
rock15478 rock15478 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default Re: Transferring Sessions

They definitely have the proper extensions...They open fine on his computer....I am copying everything exactly directly into the folder I use for all of my Pro Tools sessions. There is a folder with audio files and a .pts file for every session. Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2005, 12:24 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: Transferring Sessions

A -39 error indicates a bad file -- something happened with the DVD burn (or your Mac's not happy with his DVD).

Try burning another DVD and try a different brand of DVD media if possible... or use a FireWire drive.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2005, 06:48 AM
rock15478 rock15478 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default Re: Transferring Sessions

Tried a firewire drive.....the exact same thing happens. They open fine on the other studio's computer. Anyone have any other ideas? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2005, 10:17 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: Transferring Sessions

List complete details about your system and OS.. it must be a conflict -- do you have any virus software, etc?

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-03-2005, 11:02 AM
rock15478 rock15478 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default Re: Transferring Sessions

Power Mac G5...
Dual 2GHz
1 GB SDRAM
250GB Serial ATA
ATI Radeon 9600
128MB DDR video memory
Mac OS X v10.4 Tiger

I'm using Pro Tools 6.9. No, I don't have any virus software...I didn't think that was very necessary on a mac, or am I wrong? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-03-2005, 11:14 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: Transferring Sessions

Quote:
Tried a firewire drive.....the exact same thing happens. They open fine on the other studio's computer. Anyone have any other ideas? Thanks
Were the files copied to the FireWire drive from the DVD or recopied from the original Mac?

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-03-2005, 10:23 PM
rock15478 rock15478 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default Re: Transferring Sessions

Recopied.....I'm very familiar with computers, so I'm not sure what's going on here. I thought I had found the problem...but it still happens. I noticed that all of the other studio files were .aiff files, and all of my sessions have had .wav files in the audio files folder. I converted all of them to .wav and the same thing happens. What should they be saved as (just curious)? I have no idea what the problem is. He was using Pro Tools TDM 6.4, but all .pts files should work, correct? Thanks for the help so far.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:14 AM
rock15478 rock15478 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default Re: Transferring Sessions

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transferring sessions gteam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-05-2008 10:50 PM
transferring sessions between pc and mac philywily Tips & Tricks 2 02-26-2006 05:58 PM
Transferring Sessions KRUSH GROOVE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-19-2005 12:08 AM
transferring sessions from PC to MAC ? Dan Downs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-20-2003 03:22 PM
transferring sessions q... JEdmunds 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-04-2003 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com