Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2012, 02:43 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Calculating Overviews p**ing me off!

Ok seriously, why do I have to wait 5+ minutes every time I open a session for PT to "calculate overviews?"

The system is so slow and unresponsive while it does this that there's nothing to do but wait for it to finish.

This happens on sessions that I literally just had open minutes earlier, but upon re-opening, "calculating overviews" yet again.

Granted these are very large sessions with 100+ tracks, but why isn't it saving this overview data somewhere if it's so hard and time consuming to calculate?

It's a real pain in the butt when the client is sitting behind me and we're trying to quickly go through 20 or so sessions and we have to wait several minutes for PT to calculate overviews in each one before I can play it back.

/end rant

PTHD Native 10.1.2 / OS 10.7.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2012, 05:18 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,063
Default Re: Calculating Overviews p**ing me off!

Not seeing that here
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2012, 07:56 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: Calculating Overviews p**ing me off!

I get the odd session recalcing overviews seemingly at random. I wish the window would close itself after its done though.

edit>> Just changed the Delay Comp size in a session that I had open, and when it reopened it recalced overviews..????????
__________________
HP Z2 Xeon 6 Core, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D Win10, PT ver.. Latest
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2012, 11:30 PM
sonixstudio sonixstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hollywood dreamers land
Posts: 55
Default Re: Calculating Overviews p**ing me off!

How is your delay compinsation set . I noticed this to and I think it might have something to do with that. Does the playback seem slugish at all. are all the tracks showing GREEN for delay compinsation.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2012, 08:15 AM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Re: Calculating Overviews p**ing me off!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonixstudio View Post
How is your delay compinsation set . I noticed this to and I think it might have something to do with that. Does the playback seem slugish at all. are all the tracks showing GREEN for delay compinsation.
Delay comp is at maximum, and yes everything is green. I'll experiment with shutting it off as a test, but the session is loaded with plug-ins and being bussed into stems, so I couldn't really work without it on.

Playback is only sluggish during the "calculating overviews" period, after it finishes calculating, everything is fairly smooth. And by sluggish I mean, it takes several seconds for PT to respond to any input from the mouse or keyboard until it finishes calculating overviews, and if I try and playback before it finishes I get a pretty instantaneous CPU error, so I just have to wait it out every time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2012, 10:53 AM
Mr.Ed Mr.Ed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 104
Default Re: Calculating Overviews p**ing me off!

Quote:
Originally Posted by KMcK View Post
Ok seriously, why do I have to wait 5+ minutes every time I open a session for PT to "calculate overviews?"

The system is so slow and unresponsive while it does this that there's nothing to do but wait for it to finish.

This happens on sessions that I literally just had open minutes earlier, but upon re-opening, "calculating overviews" yet again.

Granted these are very large sessions with 100+ tracks, but why isn't it saving this overview data somewhere if it's so hard and time consuming to calculate?

It's a real pain in the butt when the client is sitting behind me and we're trying to quickly go through 20 or so sessions and we have to wait several minutes for PT to calculate overviews in each one before I can play it back.

/end rant

PTHD Native 10.1.2 / OS 10.7.3
What is your media file format? Wav or MXF?
Where do the audio files reside? Network storage or local harddrive?
Can you explain how you built the sessions? (importing a AAF or other method?)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2012, 11:29 AM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Re: Calculating Overviews p**ing me off!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Ed View Post
What is your media file format? Wav or MXF?
24bit 48k WAV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Ed View Post
Where do the audio files reside? Network storage or local harddrive?
Local firewire hard drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Ed View Post
Can you explain how you built the sessions? (importing a AAF or other method?)
It's a multi-tracked live concert session. The original sessions were created by the recording truck that tracked the show(s), I've since created individual sessions for each song in the show from that original full-length session and those individual sessions are the ones I work in daily. I have not consolidated the audio in the individual sessions, so they all still reference the original full-length audio files even though I have chopped them down to just be the length of the song within the individual sessions.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2012, 11:44 AM
Mr.Ed Mr.Ed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 104
Default Re: Calculating Overviews p**ing me off!

Is it possible there are any file permission issues?

Does this also happen if you create a new session and import the audio tracks in from the offending session?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-12-2012, 03:02 PM
PhilyG's Avatar
PhilyG PhilyG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 14
Default Re: Calculating Overviews p**ing me off!

Did anyone ever find a solution for this??

This happens to me randomly but frequently and on some larger sessions, really slows my day down.

I'm on PT 10.2.0 with HD hardware...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-12-2012, 03:27 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Re: Calculating Overviews p**ing me off!

I never figured it out. Was definitely a pain in the arse, but thankfully I'm on to a new movie now and haven't run into it again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10 : Calculating Overviews midnightrambler Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 08-10-2012 06:56 AM
when I open a PT9 HD session in PT10HD - why is it calculating overviews? MixerGuy macOS 3 12-23-2011 06:28 AM
System Freezes when calculating overviews dkroger Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-05-2011 12:56 AM
pt8 calculating overviews - backup nightmare sammyfarr Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 02-18-2009 05:25 PM
Calculating overviews when loading stevegalante Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-22-2000 09:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com