Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2001, 09:46 PM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,721
Default Help...Advice needed re ATTO Setup

I'm about to take delivery on a Mix Plus system. Currently, I have an 001 and am using an Adaptec 2906 card in order to use my SCSI CD burner.

When the system comes, and I install the ATTO Dual channel card, and the two Digi Cards in the Mix Plus system, that will fill up the slots on my G4 400. Does this mean I'm out of luck for using my CD burner, or can the burner be simply attached to one of the two 18 gig drives I'll have hanging off the ATTO card?

Thanks
__________________
iMac 27
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2001, 06:19 AM
BDWillis BDWillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 559
Default Re: Help...Advice needed re ATTO Setup

Hey Tom - First a question… is the CD burner a Narrow device? (if unsure, get info in FWB… Narrow is 8 bits, Wide is 16 bits).

If CD burner is indeed Narrow: both 18 Gig drives on ATTO channel 1; CD burner on ATTO channel 2 with step-down terminator from Wide to Narrow bus BEFORE connecting to the burner (gives 18 extra pins proper termination), then Active terminator on the burner's other SCSI connector. My CD burner & DDS3 drive weren't happy with passive termination.

Warmest Regards,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2001, 12:08 AM
snoopy snoopy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Hollywood CA
Posts: 744
Default Re: Help...Advice needed re ATTO Setup

Or if you do put the burner on a chain with a hard drive, make sure it is last in the chain.
__________________
Colin Miller
Teaboy Audio Recall Sheets
http://teaboyaudio.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice needed to upgrade older setup. needtopractice 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 08-21-2011 06:05 PM
Advice needed on HD3 rig setup audiogeekzine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 25 10-13-2009 08:28 PM
Advice needed for a new music setup with HD3 lionel payet Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-23-2005 04:13 AM
Studio Setup Advice Needed cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-04-2004 07:37 PM
Atto speed with PTHD / Drive space needed etc.. Kurtstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-18-2002 05:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com