Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2007, 11:59 AM
Revealed Revealed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Default Intermittent audio with 001...help!!!

I've run into a problem...while recording with the 001 in 6.4 something strange is happening. When I enable a track(s) to record, the source feeds through fine, BUT then audio starts dropping out...it's on....then off...then on...then off...then on...then, well you get the picture. It's almost as someone is playing a terrible trick on me with an invisible mute button...or as if there is a short in every cable from the source into the 001. This only happens in when the track(s) are idle in the record mode...as soon as the record/play is activated on the transport ALL THE AUDIO FEEDS NORMALLY!!! I brought up task manager to look at the usage...CPU is between 21% - 37% and only using about 323mb of 3G of RAM. I have done some serious troubleshooting...clock settings in PT software, checking cable(s),source(s),etc. Once upon a time I had a 001 system running on a P3/900mhz w/512mb of RAM...I tracked some serious and mixed some serious sessions with loads of plugs on that machine and it worked like a charm!! Right now my track count is at 18 (some are stereo guitar layers and overdubs), I'm not using a great deal of plugs as you can see by my the usage I supplied you with. I just can't figure this issue out...It just seems that running it on my current system should be even better, but as you can see, I'm having some issues. Can you help? Thanks.

Digi001
6.4LE cs6/cs9
XP Home SP1
P4 2.6
3G RAM
Asus P4800D-X mobo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2007, 12:10 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,534
Default Re: Intermittent audio with 001...help!!!

Although you are not recording, I would check the hard drive usage. Is it highly fragmented? Are you recording to a physically different drive than the Windows XP SP1 system drive? Has anything else changed in your system recently (antivirus, internet connection, power saving options, other software installed, etc.)? Try reformatting your audio drive (again assuming it is not your system drive). Oh and remeber to backup your files.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacbookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 13.6.7 running Protools 2024.3.1

Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 14.5 running Protools 2024.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2007, 12:17 PM
Revealed Revealed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Intermittent audio with 001...help!!!

Audio drive is seperate from OS drive. It is formatted only for audio. I defrag regularly. No new changes. Could it be the chipset on the mobo? Just doing some reading...I found a compato issue with PT m-powered (I'm not running m-powered but it does bring up a concern)...it does not support SiS (Silicon Integrated Chipset). Could that be an issue or should I keep digging?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2007, 12:20 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Intermittent audio with 001...help!!!

SiS is most definitely a problem with 001.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2007, 12:28 PM
Revealed Revealed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Intermittent audio with 001...help!!!

Crap. Any suggestions on a board that will work with my guts? Socket 478 for P4 2.6, something that will accept up to 4G of RAM (PC3200/DDR400) and that will handle high-density sticks. I also have an AGP video card. Any suggestions...anyone got anything along those lines that they've recently upgraded?
I would be interested in purchasing a used one...but suggestions on new boards would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2007, 03:44 PM
Revealed Revealed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Intermittent audio with 001...help!!!

What about an Intel mobo with the 865PE chipset?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent distortion on audio huwrees 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-13-2012 02:14 AM
Intermittent errors and no audio and MIDI Bergo macOS 1 08-23-2011 06:30 AM
C24 Intermittent Audio Nathan W. ICON & C|24 1 06-11-2011 05:31 AM
Intermittent loss of audio playback Stormfront 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-24-2010 09:24 PM
Pt5 and intermittent audio leighman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-12-2000 06:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com