Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2024, 05:27 PM
sricabla sricabla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hawi, Hawaii
Posts: 103
Default What I hear is not what I get!

I've had this problem for a long time. I have my share of amp sims, some from UA some from Plugin Alliance. I choose the amp sim and I dial in a sound that I like, I'm always careful of the input and I always record between 18 and 20 db. After I record the guitar part, the sound I heard before I record and when I play back, the sound is different, not totally different, but not what I heard while I was dialing in a sound.

This makes me struggle so much, that I have to settle sometimes. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2024, 05:53 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,044
Default Re: What I hear is not what I get!

I was facing that problem for years with my digi003. Especially the bass definition. After i recorded a bass line, it did not sound like what I heard. On a Whim I snagged a great deal on a DIGI 003 with the BLA mod, and the difference was not and day. That tells me convertors played a part.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MONTEREY 12.7.4- PT 2024.3 / 003 RACK SIGNATURE MOD / DIGIMAX FS / PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2024, 06:44 PM
_JJ_ _JJ_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 217
Default Re: What I hear is not what I get!

Without knowing anything about your setup (help us help you) I'm wondering how amp sims work with latency and if the difference you're hearing is "direct monitoring" on the way in vs what actually gets recorded and then played back? If that's the case then basslik may be right and it's the ADDA trip that's not pleasing you. Just a guess though.
__________________
2023 MacBook Pro 15,8 (M3 max)
Mac OS 14.5 (Sonoma)
PT 24.3.1.162 (Ultimate)
TB Native + Omni at home
Apogee Duet 3 on the road
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2024, 07:08 PM
sricabla sricabla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hawi, Hawaii
Posts: 103
Default Re: What I hear is not what I get!

I'm beginning to think...maybe the AD/DA converters may be slightly defective, is that such a thing?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2024, 07:09 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,044
Default Re: What I hear is not what I get!

Definitely would help to have your signature with your setup.


What's your setup.


Like my experience. Man was I knocked to my floor when I upgraded my interface, and I literally could tell what I was hearing while I was recording, translated exactly what I heard on playback.


I would not think the ADDA convertors were bad, unless you remember at one time it sounded better then what you hear now ?
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MONTEREY 12.7.4- PT 2024.3 / 003 RACK SIGNATURE MOD / DIGIMAX FS / PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2024, 07:55 PM
sricabla sricabla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hawi, Hawaii
Posts: 103
Default Re: What I hear is not what I get!

Here's my setup

iMac
Apollo Twin X
Mackie Big Knob
Console
About the Mac, see attachment
Various amp sims from Plugin Alliance and UA
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2024-04-19 at 7.51.26 PM.jpg (34.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2024, 10:05 AM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,044
Default Re: What I hear is not what I get!

Great interface and I don't believe it's the interface.


I suggest you do exactly what you are doing but add a D/I and route that to a second channel and just record the direct guitar as well.

After you record, then drag the amp sim you have already and drag onto the direct recording channel, and see if there's any difference ?


I would bypass the Mackie Big Knob and see if that's changing the sound as well. Apollo straight to monitors.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MONTEREY 12.7.4- PT 2024.3 / 003 RACK SIGNATURE MOD / DIGIMAX FS / PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2024, 10:19 AM
sricabla sricabla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hawi, Hawaii
Posts: 103
Default Re: What I hear is not what I get!

OK, I'll try to not use the Big Knob

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2024, 10:38 AM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,044
Default Re: What I hear is not what I get!

Also use a D/I and track a direct signal simultaneously and compare the two.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MONTEREY 12.7.4- PT 2024.3 / 003 RACK SIGNATURE MOD / DIGIMAX FS / PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2024, 09:10 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 252
Default Re: What I hear is not what I get!

HI

If its not the apollo, I'd check
- gear connections for circular ground paths - break them
- power cables to be only star configured - redo power cabling
- and if you may, check quality of wall outlet voltage - or get a power cleaner.

If it is any of the above, try a minimalist set up witht the least possible gear, and connections (git, apollo, imac presumably) - ie disconnect all cables (power, midi, audio, etc.) and gear not necessary, and run you computer from battery if possible.

If the problem goes away, then your gear, supposedly the apollo, may be troubled by some of the above 'bad' working conditions.
__________________
Free beer tomorrow !!
- but until then -
we're stuck in the present moment
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't hear track I'm recording on but can hear all others Durstlaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 19 12-14-2022 01:24 PM
I can see it but can't hear it... 4times4mil 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-18-2006 04:36 AM
OT: Hear Technologies Hear Back Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-16-2004 05:58 PM
Can't Hear Anything metrov Digidesign Hardware & Software 6 03-07-2004 10:26 PM
Let me hear your digi 001,Post your music that you record hear optymusblu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-05-2003 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com