Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-13-2010, 05:04 PM

Default The DUC has changed

When I first started using Pro Tools I read the manual completely and everything on the net and all the posts on the DUC and I learned very much in a short time.

I notice more and more that the questions are really simple and the post count on some of these questions are very low.

The better you get at searching the site the more help you can get.

I will always help when I can but it is clear that many times the DUC is the first choice.

It really kills me when I read
"I am a engineer and producer, could someone tell me what the inputs and outputs mean"
or
"I just landed a job doing the backround music on a TV show and I was wondering if I should use a talk back mic" ?

It can be amusing at times.

Read, study, read some more, practice practice .

Peace
Old 02-13-2010, 08:29 PM

Default Re: The DUC has changed

Haha...the laziness of the internet generation...
Old 02-13-2010, 09:58 PM

Well yes you are going to get some stuff where even hyperbole does not do it justice. I'm likely one of the older DUC members here and sometimes I have a chuckle at some of the posts. As a parent of three 20 somethings I constantly gripe that they do not know how to rebuild a Rochester quadrajet , set points or align a mci 16 track machine. Every generation has its touch points. I spend many hours every week reading how to be better at my craft. The "gotta have it now " folks will learn, or move on to being passive consumers of Kulture.
Old 02-14-2010, 02:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bender View Post