Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2022, 05:06 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,420
Default Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ???

I've got a source connect VO session on Tues. I'll be doing mono 48k to/from one connection. I installed a 14-day trial of "Source-Connect Standard 3.8" for Windows. It seems to be working with Pro Tools, but I'll know for sure on Monday when I test-connect with somebody.

Question:
Should I have gotten "Source-Nexus 1.3" instead of "Source-Connect Standard 3.8"? What's the difference? Which should I get? Thanks!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2022, 10:43 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 940
Default Re: Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ???

Source-Nexus and Source Connect are two completely different product that work congruently but you cannot use Source-Nexus as a substitute for Source-Connect..

If you’re connecting with another party using Source-Connect, Source-Connect is what you want and need.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2022, 10:58 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 370
Default Re: Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ???

Source Nexus is like a virtual audio device for routing your audio from inside pro tools to other programs such as zoom, and receiving audio back form them. We use it if we are doing a session, either in our booth or to remote talent on source connect, and a client wants to listen in/ direct form a remote location.. you use nexus as the input and output of zoom instead of a mic and speakers. You put Nexus over an aux track and send the talent and your talkback to it and the output from zoom comes out the aux channel in pro tools.
The audio quality is still dependent on the other program, so zoom still sounds like zoom. You can use source connect now with nexus for higher quality 'listen ins' but the person joining in needs Chrome browser. In theory you could use Source connect now and Nexus to record in pro tools, but I've never tried it, we just use Source connect.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2022, 06:47 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 940
Default Re: Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ???

Just to note, you cannot use Source-Connect Now to connect to someone using Source-Connect. Again, these are two different utilities. They offer similar functionality but do not work together.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2022, 07:19 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ???

If you are an engineer, my advise is to get Source Connect Pro. Otherwise if something happens on the connection, you loose files. Also if you are just talent, then I know a lot of people are fine using the Standard Source Connect with no problems.

G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician/MPSE
http://www.gregives.com


Protools 2022.7 Flex/AKA Ultimate Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX. DADMAN MOM MonitoringModule,Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Monterey 12.4 Digital Performer 11.1, Logic Pro X 10.7.4/DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2022, 10:18 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,837
Default Re: Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
If you are an engineer, my advise is to get Source Connect Pro. Otherwise if something happens on the connection, you loose files. Also if you are just talent, then I know a lot of people are fine using the Standard Source Connect with no problems.G
As a Talent I always record a backup of the session and offer to upload the 24/48 file at the end of the session.

I have worked with a studio that used Source-Connect NOW to record me at their end, but I wouldn't recommend it.

Personally, for the best audio from a producer remoting in to direct the session, I would recommend Zencastr.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2022, 01:03 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,152
Default Re: Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ???

I did some Source-Connect remote stuff a while back and getting everything to work smoothly was enough trouble that I ended up running it on a separate laptop running its own audio interface that I fed as if it were one of my headphone mixes
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2022, 04:08 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,837
Default Re: Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ???

I always recommend using Source-Connect "standalone" rather than using it as a plug-in. Fortunately I can use TotalMix to route Sends from Pro Tools to Source-Connect outside of Pro Tools, hence the term "standalone".

I started doing it this way when using the plug-in caused intermittent squeaks and squawks in the incoming signal from the remote studio. Luckily not in my audio going to the remote studio. I'm on Windows and Source-Elements Support said they had a fix for the issue in the next release, but that's been waiting in the wings for a few years. In the meantime they suggested purchasing a separate interface as albee does. Not in the budget, so I learned the alternative I described.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2022, 08:34 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,943
Default Re: Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ???

Source Connect’s tech support is outstanding! I wrestled with it on my Windows system, got ghosted by some well-known supposed “audio guru” (which tells me he had no idea how to make it work with Pro Tools on Windows in the first place.) One e-mail to SC tech support, I got a call within minutes, and she had me up and running in no time. Culprit: besides Pro Tools not liking to share hardware, neither, it seems, does a UA Apollo 8. So, all my Source Connect goes both directions thru a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. Works beautifully.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-06-2022, 02:03 AM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 370
Default Re: Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
I always recommend using Source-Connect "standalone" rather than using it as a plug-in. Fortunately I can use TotalMix to route Sends from Pro Tools to Source-Connect outside of Pro Tools, hence the term "standalone".
Yeah we're on Mac, but I use the link plugin all the time and it works flawlessly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Source Elements releases Windows version of Source-Nexus sourceelements Partner Announcements 0 01-31-2022 08:21 AM
Source Connect Nexus or similar for PC? Scott G Post - Surround - Video 4 11-02-2021 06:17 AM
Sale: Source Elements' Source Nexus Basic and Pro SoundByLaura Buy & Sell 1 01-01-2017 08:30 PM
Source-Connect Standard 3.7 For Sale reggelitorna Buy & Sell 3 02-16-2014 10:24 AM
Source ZIP- a new nifty utility from those Source Connect People MIKEROPHONICS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-13-2010 09:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com