Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2015, 09:19 AM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 470
Default Will Heat ever be HDN?

seems strange to tie it to such a small segment of the HD market.
theres a lot of options now for this type of thing ...
but since they did put it out... just saying
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

Monterey 12.4,PTS 2022.5, MacbookPro 13"[2020] M1 16G, Antelope Orion 32+ Gen3..SSL Sigma summing, SMART Comp C1LA, CharterOak EQP-1 Oceanway Audio HR4S monitors .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2015, 09:35 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,603
Default Re: Will Heat ever be HDN?

I think many people would agree with you, me included.

I own HEAT but can't use it since switching to HD Native. I have found better replacements ironically. VCC, Phoenix, UA's stuff.

It's technically possible and is actually happening when HDX systems do an offline bounce, the DSP HEAT instances are converted to native.

Given what Avid is attempting to do with Avid Everywhere, I wouldn't think it would be a priority for quite some time. Just a guess.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2015, 04:37 PM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 671
Default Re: Will Heat ever be HDN?

You're not alone. I too own HEAT and felt gypped when I switched from TDM to HD Native and HEAT was conspicuously absent. After all, I still paid for HD.

That said, I'm a true believer in the following...

Slate Virtual Tape on every channel and on the Master buss.
Slate Virtual Console on every channel, auxes and the Master buss.
Slate FG-X on the Master buss.

And these are now AAX for PT 11!!!

For me, the results this produces are stellar. Just watch your gain staging carefully.
__________________
Justin (Proud Pro Tools Ultimate PERPETUAL license owner)
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2021 Mac Studio Ultra M1 20 Core CPU, 48 Core GPU, 64GB Ram, 4TB SSD boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12 | PreSonus Quantum 4848 interface | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Mercury, Rode K2, Slate VMS ML-1. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2015, 10:11 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,983
Default Re: Will Heat ever be HDN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
I own HEAT but can't use it since switching to HD Native. (...) It's technically possible and is actually happening when HDX systems do an offline bounce, the DSP HEAT instances are converted to native.
Same here. I'm liking it when I use my old TDM system, but I wouldn't mind if I had it with this HDN too.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2015, 01:10 AM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: Will Heat ever be HDN?

No it will not be for the same reason that so many things are or are not. Because it doesn't matter to Avid. There is no why or why not just because.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2015, 01:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,983
Default Re: Will Heat ever be HDN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Lang View Post
No it will not be for the same reason that so many things are or are not. Because it doesn't matter to Avid. There is no why or why not just because.
Do I sense bad attitude here?

You may never know what future plans Avid has. The hell froze over when they dropped TDM so anything may happen...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-2015, 09:39 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Will Heat ever be HDN?

asking for ANYTHING from Avid is waste of binary data - when you put a software engineer in charge of company instead of a person with a creative background - these people know zip about the creative aspects what to do with what they are in charge of - your requests are going to fall on deaf ears.
Freeze was function requested for 12 years before is was implemented. Things like channel strip presets have been in Venue software and other DAW's for a decade. The last good PT real ease was version 8. Since then it's all been downhill.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2015, 12:40 AM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: Will Heat ever be HDN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Do I sense bad attitude here?

You may never know what future plans Avid has. The hell froze over when they dropped TDM so anything may happen...
Nothing personal but I'll give you $100 USD when you prove my "bad attitude" wrong.

I'm not too worried. This will not happen. HEAT will get dropped entirely before this happens.

This company actively HATES it's customers.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-07-2015, 12:40 AM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: Will Heat ever be HDN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
Freeze was function requested for 12 years before is was implemented.
Nothing personal but freeze is still not implemented.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-07-2015, 07:04 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,052
Default Re: Will Heat ever be HDN?

I hate to say this, and it's nothing personal as well, but I agree with Dave Lang. The Pro Tools product is no longer, and has not been for quite a while now, driven by a creative vision. The business is eating itself by focusing almost exclusively on the building of income side of the business. Ironically, this is resulting in the company having way less of the very thing that they are concentrating on. Making customers extremely displeased rarely leads to
more income.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does comping to a Heat enabled track print the Heat? joshdrucker macOS 0 03-12-2014 10:17 PM
Heat midnightsun Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-09-2011 01:52 AM
HEAT and PT 9 non-HD chicken Pro Tools 9 1 11-10-2010 06:43 AM
Heat Fullsound Recording Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 09-06-2010 10:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com