Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2011, 09:07 AM
ggegan ggegan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 389
Default HDX card = 3 to 7 x Accel card? Avid needs to explain.

Previously I had been told by a sales person that the processing power of an HDX card would be the equivalent of a TDM HD5, however, I now see advertisements that state the processing power would be between 3 and 7 times that of an Accel card, which makes 5x an average estimate.

I don't understand why the processing power has such a broad range. What type of configuration would result in 3x as opposed to 7x? If it turns out to be closer to 3x, then buying 2 HDX cards would mean that you would have 512 voices, yet only the processing power of a TDM HD6. From my experience, a TDM HD6 can easily be pushed to the limit for film mixing with only 192 voices, so this would be a woefully underpowered system. If the power is closer to 7x, then that seems to be a better matchup for 256 voices, but 7x is the high end of the range.

What is reasonable to expect and what are the factors that determine where a system would fall within the processing power range? I need a comprehensive official explanation from an Avid rep before I can even consider an investment in HDX.
__________________
Gary Gegan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2011, 09:27 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,442
Default Re: HDX card = 3 to 7 x Accel card? Avid needs to explain.

This reminds me of the Mix card vs DSP farm, and Accel card vs HD process card comparisons. In both instances, the cards were generally supposed to be equal to roughly 3x their predecessor. On the older card transitions, like DSP farm to Mix, there were plugins that used an entire DSP chip on a DSP farm, that only used 1/3 of a chip on mix cards.... but you needed to use 3 of them for it to make efficient use of the chip. There were also plugins that only worked on a specific type of chip, so in some cases the DSP farm was much closer to the mix card in power depending on what plugins you used.

I believe that the HDX cards have only one type of DSP, so the results should be more consistent, especially since all of the plugins are effectively brand new and not based on old code like many TDM plugins were. If there really is a real world difference in power of an HDX being somewhere between HD3 and HD7, that is pretty severe and definitely needs some more explanation.

Voice count is also something that could be a potential bottleneck, From what I've read on this forum, the voice stealing issue of mixing native and DSP plugins still exists on HDX, however unlike HD you can increase voice count by adding more cards. i think the issue will be based on how many 3rd party plugin companies decide to make a DSP version of their plugin. If everyone only releases AAX native versions of their plugins, voice count could be an issue. But since the difference in work required to make a dsp version of a native plugin is much less, we may see a lot more dsp aax plugins.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2011, 09:56 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,638
Default Re: HDX card = 3 to 7 x Accel card? Avid needs to explain.

As john stated it depends on your plugins but also your host processor power, as the hdx card is an hybrid system that can benefit from the host processor power.
__________________
Manny.

Wave-T.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2011, 10:23 AM
ggegan ggegan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 389
Default Re: HDX card = 3 to 7 x Accel card? Avid needs to explain.

As I read it, the 3x to 7x statement is not referring to native processing. To my eye the comparison is clearly between HDX and TDM DSP processing, since that is what is being sold by Avid. It may be possible that the computer system configuration affects the efficiency of the card, I don't know, but whatever the case, there needs to be a clear explanation so we understand what exactly we would be getting.
__________________
Gary Gegan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2011, 10:57 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: HDX card = 3 to 7 x Accel card? Avid needs to explain.

I think it is also dependent on sample rate/bit depth of the session
ie: 16/48 is 7x were 192/32 is 3x

hopefully this is cleared up when the HDx cards do ship
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2011, 11:25 AM
matt-o- matt-o- is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 227
Default Re: HDX card = 3 to 7 x Accel card? Avid needs to explain.

But what's about the efficiency of the recoding? I remember screenshots of PT10 with AAX Revibe using 54% of a DSP, with a 2nd assigned using 54% of another DSP. Will PT use the remaining 46% for other plug-ins? The TDM Revibe used straight 50%, making it possible to use 2 per chip. I think, there are still a lot of questions and details to verify, before making any decision... but anyway, no need to hurry...
__________________
MacPro 7.1 8c 3.5 GHz, 48GB RAM, HD native
PT 2021.12.0, 10.15.7
www.imdb.com/name/nm0501611/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2011, 11:45 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,442
Default Re: HDX card = 3 to 7 x Accel card? Avid needs to explain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
bit death
Best typo I've seen this year
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2011, 11:53 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,442
Default Re: HDX card = 3 to 7 x Accel card? Avid needs to explain.

I posted a link to this thread on the transition to aax thread, hopefully DaveTremblay might be able to shed some light on this:

http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=1...&postcount=131
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-18-2011, 11:56 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,374
Default Re: HDX card = 3 to 7 x Accel card? Avid needs to explain.

This is just speculation, but if you look at the videos from AES, lots of plug-in developers were talking about getting AAX running, and then optimizing their code and having it run twice as efficiently after optimization. The nice English engineer from Avid on the night of the PT10 announcement was talking about wildly variable efficiencies depending on the code. I don't expect drawing an exact comparison will be possible.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-18-2011, 01:25 PM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,281
Default Re: HDX card = 3 to 7 x Accel card? Avid needs to explain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
This is just speculation, but if you look at the videos from AES, lots of plug-in developers were talking about getting AAX running, and then optimizing their code and having it run twice as efficiently after optimization. The nice English engineer from Avid on the night of the PT10 announcement was talking about wildly variable efficiencies depending on the code. I don't expect drawing an exact comparison will be possible.

What he said.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Digidesign HD Core Card and Accel Card - PCIX/PCI N1h1l1ty Buy & Sell 7 05-30-2015 10:35 AM
Digidesign / Avid Pro Tools HD Accel Process Card PCI + Flex Cable included papitopinillo Pro Tools 9 9 05-22-2013 03:35 PM
WTB:Avid HD Accel Card PciE and Control24 or Procontrol Cabalmetal Buy & Sell 0 11-27-2012 01:43 AM
192 not recognized from Core card, but IS from Accel Card. Advice? Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-24-2010 09:14 PM
HD Core card to Accel card flex cable in Dell 670 belouder Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 01-16-2006 07:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com