Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Old 06-19-2021, 09:49 AM

Default Pre-Sales Question

Hello all. I am new to the forum and had a few pre-sales questions I wanted to throw out there about Carbon. I have read through all of the threads on the forum as well as multiple articles so I have a good understanding of how Carbon performs however in spite of all of that I still am not sure if it's something that will work for me.

I am a video editor using Davinci Resolve and while they have Fairlight, and a new desktop controller, I feel like it still has issues, especially compatibility with a large selection of audio interfaces. I am considering a move to Pro Tools, which I used over 12 years ago in a professional sound studio. I am currently considering a set-up consisting of an Avid Dock, 2 Avid S1's and Pro Tools Carbon. This set-up is mostly driven by an initial budget of $8,000 - $10,000, for an audio interface and DAW controller, and not counting a Mac OS computer or speakers.

Here's a few questions I have.

1) Is Carbon the right tool for the job? It doesn't use Sync X and so I will be losing frame accurate syncing. Most of the editing jobs I do consist of corporate and commercial spots, however there may be a documentary or narrative film in the next year. Note: In Resolve when you go to the Fairlight page you are automatically synced to the video.

2) Is Carbon something I can build an audio post production system around? Right now the inputs and outputs seem sufficient for the work I am doing. I know there is am upgrade pathway regarding I/O's that can link up to the Carbon, however I have not been able to fin any videos or articles showing this.