Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2020, 12:22 PM
rocketsurgery rocketsurgery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 4
Default Error, missing PACE authorization for Pro Tools.

Hi everyone I've been beating my head against a wall for months with the "Error, missing PACE authorization for Pro Tools..." and been through the wringer. Hopefully this will save someone a massive headache.
I recently upgraded my trusty mobile rig to a "new" MPB & PT Ultimate. What a nightmare! Did the usual migration from my previous rig and kept getting the error message. Decided to do a complete reinstall to a reformatted drive, bought hundreds of dollars in adapters, both powered and unpowered. I've talked to every software support company involved and came up with nothing. Just dealt with constant crashes. FINALLY I got this back today from pace/iLok...

There is some software that has been known to interfere with USB recognition. Do you have any of the following applications installed:

~Duet or Duet Display
~USB Network Gate or any other software from Eltima
~Shadow PC

To be thorough, please send us your system information:

On an OS 10.4 or above Macintosh, the system information can be found here:
1) From your 'Hard Drive' go to the 'Applications/Utilities/' folder and run the "System Profiler" or "System Information".
2) From the "System Profiler/System Information" menu choose 'File' and then 'Save'
3) Make sure to archive (ZIP) the file from the system it was generated from before sending it to us.

Best regards,

PACE Anti-Piracy Technical Support

then...

Yes! I am sorry, we're only recently discovering the scope of the problem with Duet. If you contact Duet, I know they were able to help one of our users with a command line script that stopped it from interfering with USB recognition.

hopefully this helps someone!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg errormsg.jpg (38.8 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2020, 01:32 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,536
Default Re: Error, missing PACE authorization for Pro Tools.

Also there can be issues with iLoks and USB3 ports. The usual remedy is to run a powered USB 2 hub between computer & iLok.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2020, 11:33 AM
rocketsurgery rocketsurgery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 4
Default Re: Error, missing PACE authorization for Pro Tools.

not the case. like in the original post, tried apple unpowered adapters and powered hubs. Also bought 3 brand new ilok3s just to be sure it wasn't the physical ilok. This is was a case of software issue with duet being installed on my rig. Since I've removed the application I've had 0 errors.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2020, 08:11 PM
rocketsurgery rocketsurgery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 4
Default Re: Error, missing PACE authorization for Pro Tools.

more from Duet directly...

Hello,

This is Vachi with Duet’s tech support team. Thank you for reaching out!

We have actually had a couple of users report similar issues in the past with Duet and iLok, however, it does not seems to be affecting all of our users. Our development team has suggested running the following command on your Mac's Terminal app: "defaults write com.kairos.duetMac androidUsbDisabled -bool true". This command will disable part of Duet's USB components that could be causing issues with iLok.

Please let us know how it goes, we will be looking forward to your response.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2021, 04:05 PM
Ulf Ulf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 23
Default Re: Error, missing PACE authorization for Pro Tools.

What Duet do You mean??? Duet from Apogee???
I have this problem now and it is annoying to be frankly! I have spent 2 days of debugging something the should not be a problem!!! I have a license and it do not work, it is more than bad!!! Can I bill Avid for lost work???
__________________
Mac Pro 2x3,46 GHz 6-Core OS 10.13.6
System 5 SC264D, CM408x3, CM402, CM401
AM713, MA703, ML530, MC524, FC726
ProTools Ultimate 2019.5, Avid MTRX
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason txlonelystar Pro Tools 2019 14 03-26-2020 12:26 PM
"Missing PACE Authorization" error when I lose Wi-Fi connection hill1006 Pro Tools 2018 10 08-30-2018 09:51 AM
Missing PACE Authorization for Pro Tools CalebCuzner Pro Tools 2018 2 04-03-2018 06:17 AM
Error ilok authorization missing pro tools 10 thieums macOS 1 02-18-2013 01:00 PM
Error, missing ilok authorization for Pro Tools 9 Martin11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-13-2011 10:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com