Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2013, 01:38 AM
sb_stefan sb_stefan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 92
Default Pro Tools tries to re-link deleted files. Why?

If I delete a track from a session (right click and select delete) and then also delete that file from the audio files folder inside the project folder, Pro Tools still prompts me to re-link that file every time I open the session.

Is there a way of telling Pro Tools that this files is no longer part of the session, so I don't get prompted every time?

(The reason why I delete the file from the audio files folder is because I'm sharing the session via Dropbox, and I have very limited space on there.)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2013, 01:43 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: Pro Tools tries to re-link deleted files. Why?

You shouldn't delete files from outside PT, that are used in the session. Even if you delete it from the timeline it's still in the clip list, and when you erase it from the hdd, Pro Tools is looking for it.
In order to delete a file from within PT you have to select it, then hit shift+cmd+b (on a Mac that is) and choose "Delete". That way it will be removed from the session and deleted from the disk.
Now, in your particular scenario, you hit shift+cmd+d then shift+cmd+u then shift+cmd+b then choose "Remove".
This will remove all files that are not in the timeline from your session, and you won't be promped anymore.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2013, 01:50 AM
sb_stefan sb_stefan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 92
Default Re: Pro Tools tries to re-link deleted files. Why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Now, in your particular scenario, you hit shift+cmd+d then shift+cmd+u then shift+cmd+b then choose "Remove".
This will remove all files that are not in the timeline from your session, and you won't be promped anymore.
What do each of these commands do exactly?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2013, 02:03 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: Pro Tools tries to re-link deleted files. Why?

+d makes sure, all files that are used in the session are being displayed in the clip list (due to a search it might be, that only a selection is shown, and the following command only applies to those, that are being displayed in the list).

+u selects all visible files in the clip list, that are not currently used in the timeline.

+b lets you select if you only want to remove these files from the session, or if you want to delete them from your drive as well.

You can select all those options from the little arrow to the top right of the clip list as well.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock

Last edited by Meads; 04-12-2013 at 03:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2013, 12:38 PM
sb_stefan sb_stefan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 92
Default Re: Pro Tools tries to re-link deleted files. Why?

Awesome! Thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2021, 12:40 PM
EVaschon EVaschon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 26
Default Re: Pro Tools tries to re-link deleted files. Why?

This can't be the end of this conversation.
This is an explanation for what to do when you want to correctly delete files and not have Pro Tools attempt to relink them.

But the question still remains, what the heck to do with files that are ALREADY DELETED and protools continues to try to relink those files???????? Constantly being prompted to relink files that you don't want is incredibly annoying and it continuously happens. it's so frustrating!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2021, 12:52 PM
devinemke's Avatar
devinemke devinemke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: NYC
Posts: 99
Default Re: Pro Tools tries to re-link deleted files. Why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EVaschon View Post
This can't be the end of this conversation.
This is an explanation for what to do when you want to correctly delete files and not have Pro Tools attempt to relink them.

But the question still remains, what the heck to do with files that are ALREADY DELETED and protools continues to try to relink those files???????? Constantly being prompted to relink files that you don't want is incredibly annoying and it continuously happens. it's so frustrating!
  1. right click on the top of the clip bin and select all "offline"
  2. right click on any of the selected clips and click "clear"
  3. save your session and re-open
__________________
Devin Emke
Audio Post Production Engineer
Saturday Night Live, NBC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-23-2021, 12:02 PM
rogerwilco2000 rogerwilco2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: city and/or country
Posts: 22
Default Re: Pro Tools tries to re-link deleted files. Why?

Consider this thread bumped. Deleted a video track. Selected offline and unused clips, removed them from the session. Copied leftover audio files to a new session for mixing. Deleted original session, emptied Mac trash. Restarted Pro Tools. Open the session, it immediately launches a window searching for the video file.

Every thread I find online suggests clearing this clip from the clip list in some manner, but it's not listed there or referenced anywhere else in any part of the session.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone experience the "pro tools deleted my files" behavior in PT 10? PeterScherr Pro Tools 10 23 07-04-2012 12:35 PM
Pro Tools 9 deleted my files!!!! Kourquie Pro Tools 9 72 06-29-2012 08:34 AM
Pro Tools Playback Issues at 88.2 with Delta Link / Alpha Link - Any ideas? azirkin macOS 1 01-17-2012 02:30 AM
Digi, When you post a link for 6.7... *DELETED* Keith Owens 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-11-2004 05:27 PM
My Audio files were deleted!!! What software to buy to restore the files.... lucio matarazzo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-22-2000 07:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com