Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2003, 04:49 AM
mozart mozart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 291
Default Conrol 24 and surround (5.1)

Does anyone use C24 for surround mixing? How does it work? Is it good in that? I'm thinking to upgrade mine studio for 5.1 monitoring, but i'm not sure C24 is good enough for that...
thanks Mozart
__________________
Pro Tools 11.2 HDX

Apogee Symphony I/O 32analog I/O
192 I/O (old) Digital

Hack pro i7 Six Core/ 32 RAM


Kostadin Kamcev - Mozart
www.mozartstudio.com
Clifton, NJ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2003, 09:20 AM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,164
Default Re: Conrol 24 and surround (5.1)

Mozart,
Having mixed numerous Movies and TV in Surround here:
http://www.monkeylandaudio.com/mixingstages.html
We mixed on 2 Control 24's and used a Martinsound
Multimax EX for Speaker Monitoring since the factory
Speaker monitor on the Control 24 sucks.
Hope this answers your question.
Take Care,
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2003, 07:36 PM
ripple FX ripple FX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Indianapolis, IN USA
Posts: 435
Default Re: Conrol 24 and surround (5.1)

I certainly respect Dr. Sound's creds, but the C|24 monitoring is fine for the industrial and trade show 5.1 mixes we do. We use KRK V4s and S12. Small but mighty!

Cheers,
Chris
__________________
http://www.ripplefx.com
Mac Pro 8 core 3.0GHz Harpertown
Magma PE6R4I - HD 3 Accel +1 Process
Control 24 - 96io - 1622
OSX 10.6.8 - PTHD 10.3.10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2003, 08:40 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,164
Default Re: Conrol 24 and surround (5.1)

Chris (ripple FX),
I appreciate the way you worded your post. Unfortunately, I must disagree with you. It has nothing to do with credits; it has to do with experience. I heard lots of people complaining about the Monitor pot on the C24. I thought "yeah right". Guess what, they were right! I tried the other day to calibrate my system using the C24 only for volume. Started out playing pink noise through it and tried to calibrate to 85spl. Fine, got close, then I tried 82. The level jumped a few db and wouldn't sit at 82 no matter what. The monitor pot sucks. It has been well documented by numerous people. If you’re interested in being calibrated (see some of my other postings on the subject) you will want to find something better. The console works for surround, the monitor pot works too if you don't care about a few db's here or there. I DO !
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2003, 09:29 PM
ripple FX ripple FX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Indianapolis, IN USA
Posts: 435
Default Re: Conrol 24 and surround (5.1)

dr,
We always calibrate to 85 without problem. The (still) infrequent surround jobs that we do don't justify an additional expense for a function the C24 does adequately. Perhaps I don't care about a few dB's. Hmmm....

Are you saying the individual channels do not track equally? Or that the monitor control is imprecise?

Perhaps you could link me to more details. Thanks.

Cheers,
Chris
__________________
http://www.ripplefx.com
Mac Pro 8 core 3.0GHz Harpertown
Magma PE6R4I - HD 3 Accel +1 Process
Control 24 - 96io - 1622
OSX 10.6.8 - PTHD 10.3.10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2003, 09:36 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,164
Default Re: Conrol 24 and surround (5.1)

Quote:
Poster: ripple FX
Subject: Re: Conrol 24 and surround (5.1)

dr,
We always calibrate to 85 without problem. The (still) infrequent surround jobs that we do don't justify an additional expense for a function the C24 does adequately. Perhaps I don't care about a few dB's. Hmmm....

Are you saying the individual channels do not track equally? Or that the monitor control is imprecise?

Perhaps you could link me to more details. Thanks.

Cheers,
Chris


dr. sound replies"
I am saying that the monitor control tracks poorly. This is a known problem. Weather you mix in Surround or not, the monitor pot stinks. What does yours do as you adjust, or do you set and forget? Try calibrating your monitor to say 85, them try and adjust it to say 80, what happens?
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surround panning of surround tracks mik Post - Surround - Video 10 12-16-2010 09:08 PM
Ideal surround workflow with PT9 & 002 but no surround speakers? EricWillhelm Post - Surround - Video 5 11-16-2010 06:45 AM
SRS Circle Surround - Matrix Surround Troubles mrdale Post - Surround - Video 1 08-11-2006 02:12 PM
Pro Tools - Makie Master Conrol... Pase 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-18-2004 05:51 PM
Anyone using Waves 360 Surround and/or Dolby Surround plug? Wheelieboy426 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-10-2002 02:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com