Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2004, 05:19 PM
mersisblue mersisblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 1,285
Default Cant I do anything about performance G4 OSX


....... Short of a cpu upgrade , since none Are offered for my model , What can I do ?

I have 1.2 Giggs of ram Should I get 1.7 ? what will that do for me ?

Also Can some one maybe tell me How I could Get Better cooling , even if only using isolation boxes .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2004, 10:05 AM
mersisblue mersisblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 1,285
Default Re: Cant I do anything about performance G4 OSX

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2004, 10:36 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Cant I do anything about performance G4 OSX

I doubt more RAM will do anything for you, unless you're loading HUGE samples into something like Reason.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2004, 11:06 AM
mersisblue mersisblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 1,285
Default Re: Cant I do anything about performance G4 OSX

I usually use 7 or virtual instrument in Beat making session

I t mght help in these but I bounce these down anyway

I 'm loo0king for general performance increase more track etc.....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2004, 12:18 PM
maccool maccool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 398
Default Re: Cant I do anything about performance G4 OSX

merisblue,

not sure if this offers any hope for the near future, but check out this thread on Macgurus.

maccool.
__________________
Dual 2.0 G5, 10.4.6, PTLE 7.1, 002R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-2004, 12:52 PM
mersisblue mersisblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 1,285
Default Re: Cant I do anything about performance G4 OSX

thanks mac cool

It's good to know they're on their way

Although it wasnt mentioned I hope a DP upgrade is coming
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-10-2004, 02:11 PM
maccool maccool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 398
Default Re: Cant I do anything about performance G4 OSX

I think that if Giga Designs bring this off then a dual 1.4 will probably be on the cards. Do you have a 133 or 167 MHz bus machine.
__________________
Dual 2.0 G5, 10.4.6, PTLE 7.1, 002R
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-10-2004, 02:30 PM
mersisblue mersisblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 1,285
Default Re: Cant I do anything about performance G4 OSX

133 bus
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro Performance master-fader macOS 0 11-21-2011 02:08 PM
PT9 Performance? Chingy Pro Tools 9 4 11-09-2010 03:20 PM
More RAM = no better performance?!? fly-deluxe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 01-09-2004 06:14 PM
OSX vs OS9 performance Stage 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 05-23-2003 06:58 PM
about HD performance 8e design Storage Subsystems 1 07-28-2002 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com