Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-22-2004, 04:43 AM

Default What Mac would you get if you\'re in my shoes?

All this talking about Mac has gotten me all worked up to get one but not I'm not sure which one is for me. My funds are limited so I'm looking at the low-end. However I'm just a hobbyist who sits down one or two nights a week to write some tunes. Nothing major. I just like to get it out of my system and hopefully get a song finished by the weekend.

Everything I do these days is done in Reason although the one set of software synths I love are the Spectrasonics programs. Right now I'm using Reason 2.5 on my Dell P4/2.4. I don't own Pro Tools LE (use it at another studio on occasion, but at home I master with T-Racks) although I'm cool with getting an Mbox or possibly (gasp!) a 002R. I've already got a couple external Iomega 7200 RPM USB 2.0 hard drives to store my audio and projects. So.....the only thing missing is Mac and like I said I'm trying to keep the budget low + I don't want to buy way more than I need. My PC will remain for 'business' use.

Not sure how much juice I'd get out of a G4 14" iBook but the one thing that blows is the limited amount of RAM. Next in the lineup is a 17" iMac. Decent display, 1.25Ghz of power, 1GB ram, seems adequate and on ebay they are no more than the cost of a new G4 iBook. Lastly, a lowly eMac. I say lowly because the 16" CRT viewable display might feel somewhat cheezy compared to the iBook or flat panel iMac, but under the hood it seems decent for someone like me and its cheap.

Help me, help me.. and thank you for whatever responses I get out of this!

Old 02-22-2004, 05:04 AM