Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2022, 07:39 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default Blue Connector Allows Routing between apps or DAWs or networked computers

Blue Cat Audio has released their new Connector plugin

Quote:
Have you ever dreamt to overcome the limitations of your favorite DAW and draw virtual audio and MIDI cables between any places that accept plug-ins?
Have you ever been frustrated not to be able to create feedback loops with plug-ins?
What about connecting multiple applications together, on different computers?
The wait is over! Blue Cat's Connector lets you do all of this, and more! It can stream audio and MIDI data in real time, between any locations that accepts plug-ins: one or several applications, on one or several machines connected to a network.
And only $39 US. Not bad.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2022, 08:43 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 886
Default Re: Blue Connector Allows Routing between apps or DAWs or networked computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Blue Cat Audio has released their new Connector plugin


And only $39 US. Not bad.
I tried it today. Couldn’t get it to connect. Also, I wish it had a standalone app it could connect to and not just a plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2022, 09:55 PM
audiolex1 audiolex1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Studio City
Posts: 158
Default Re: Blue Connector Allows Routing between apps or DAWs or networked computers

I imagine there will be some bugs but it looks promising.

39 bucks, I picked it up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2022, 11:42 PM
bluecataudio's Avatar
bluecataudio bluecataudio is offline
Blue Cat Audio
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 310
Default Re: Blue Connector Allows Routing between apps or DAWs or networked computers

Thanks for mentioning our new plug-in!

Connection should be pretty straightforward... Have you made sure that audio is going thru the plug-in on both sides?

The goal of the plug-in is to help making connections (either within an app or between apps), that's why it is not available as an application. If you are looking for an app to host plug-ins and send/receive audio & MIDI to/from it, we already have PatchWork for this purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2022, 04:58 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 886
Default Re: Blue Connector Allows Routing between apps or DAWs or networked computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluecataudio View Post
Thanks for mentioning our new plug-in!

Connection should be pretty straightforward... Have you made sure that audio is going thru the plug-in on both sides?

The goal of the plug-in is to help making connections (either within an app or between apps), that's why it is not available as an application. If you are looking for an app to host plug-ins and send/receive audio & MIDI to/from it, we already have PatchWork for this purpose.
Thanks. Yes, audio is going into the plug in Pro Tools. Meters are bouncing. Trying to connect PT to GarageBand hosting an AU plug. Same machine Local Send to Local Receive. Port 8080 and several other ports. No connection.
Mac M1 11.4.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2022, 08:01 AM
bluecataudio's Avatar
bluecataudio bluecataudio is offline
Blue Cat Audio
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 310
Default Re: Blue Connector Allows Routing between apps or DAWs or networked computers

That's strange. Does the sender see the receiver at all, or both are in [CONNECTING] or [NOT CONNECTED] state?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2022, 08:24 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,877
Default Re: Blue Connector Allows Routing between apps or DAWs or networked computers

Interesting. $39 is reasonable if it does what it says.

Will be interesting to compare this to Loopback built in to my audio interface (Windows), Loopback (the app), Blackhole, GroundControl Room and GroundControl Caster for Mac.

The ability to connect multiple application on DIFFERENT COMPUTERS sounds really cool.

I'll be testing it out for sure to see if I can integrate it into OBS for live streams.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-21-2022, 08:35 AM
bluecataudio's Avatar
bluecataudio bluecataudio is offline
Blue Cat Audio
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 310
Default Re: Blue Connector Allows Routing between apps or DAWs or networked computers

It definitely works with OBS, it's great to be able to pick up the signal from anywhere in Pro Tools for live streams or video recording!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2022, 08:47 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,877
Default Re: Blue Connector Allows Routing between apps or DAWs or networked computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluecataudio View Post
It definitely works with OBS, it's great to be able to pick up the signal from anywhere in Pro Tools for live streams or video recording!
That will be epic!
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-21-2022, 08:48 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: Blue Connector Allows Routing between apps or DAWs or networked computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluecataudio View Post
It definitely works with OBS, it's great to be able to pick up the signal from anywhere in Pro Tools for live streams or video recording!

How does the MIDI routing work on it. Its not shown in the video. Can you give an example of how that might be set up? I just want to understand how that might be used. Thanks.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Routing other apps to Pro Tools freakhouse Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 11 10-04-2021 10:04 AM
Routing Arp Kirnu with Blue Patch Work megahias AAX Plug-ins 2 10-08-2016 05:41 AM
Can you run 2 different DAWs on 2 different computers and link them up? mccoyrare@yahoo.com Pro Tools 10 7 11-12-2014 11:36 AM
Routing audio from CoreAudio apps to Pro Tools stargazer macOS 7 05-02-2013 09:55 PM
routing other audio apps through mbox? sterndrup 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-05-2008 10:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com