Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2022, 10:30 AM
stephenjamesbennett stephenjamesbennett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Identifying Carbon Firmware Version

How does one find the Carbon Firmware revision currently installed?

Stephen

Last edited by jeffro; 01-20-2022 at 11:00 AM. Reason: Split from https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=418630 for visibility
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2022, 10:43 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 395
Default Re: Can Carbon be used with other installs of PT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
If you launch PT, select the Carbon as your interface, and go to Setup -> Hardware, the Firmware version is shown at the bottom left of the dialog box.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2022, 10:56 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,841
Default Re: Can Carbon be used with other installs of PT?

You can also find it in... Audio MIDI Setup > Audio Devices > right+click Pro Tools Carbon > Configure Device > click on Pro Tools Carbon
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2022-01-20 at 10.50.20 AM.jpg (21.6 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2022, 11:08 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,712
Default Re: Can Carbon be used with other installs of PT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenjamesbennett View Post
And additional question.

How does one find the Carbon Firmware revision currently installed?

Stephen
Also note::The firmware is installed whenever you first launch a new installed PT version (it will prompt you to install the new firmware) and is as part of the PT version software

You can reset the firmware to the default firmware image (if say you are wanting to go back to a previous PT version) and then it will again prompt to install that firmware for the new installed previous version PT ....(make sense ?)
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.12 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2022, 01:00 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,712
Default Re: Identifying Carbon Firmware Version

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
If you launch PT, select the Carbon as your interface, and go to Setup -> Hardware, the Firmware version is shown at the bottom left of the dialog box.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
You can also find it in... Audio MIDI Setup > Audio Devices > right+click Pro Tools Carbon > Configure Device > click on Pro Tools Carbon
I just checked both methods and noticed a slight difference
Is the one in the Hardware Setup window the same number but just contracted ?


__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.12 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2022, 01:15 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 395
Default Re: Identifying Carbon Firmware Version

Well spotted!

The long one has a date buried in it, but I assume that they are the same otherwise.

(I'm guessing that's 10th Nov 2021, but US and UK dates are not shown the same way round so if the year is first, I don't know what comes next in a US date format).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2022, 01:20 AM
stephenjamesbennett stephenjamesbennett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: Identifying Carbon Firmware Version

Thanks everyone.

Regards

Stephen
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2022, 06:58 PM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 417
Default Re: Identifying Carbon Firmware Version

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
Well spotted!

The long one has a date buried in it, but I assume that they are the same otherwise.

(I'm guessing that's 10th Nov 2021, but US and UK dates are not shown the same way round so if the year is first, I don't know what comes next in a US date format).

In your example for the US, it would be Nov. 10th, 2021.
...Month, Day, and Year.
__________________
What is more relaxing than Music?
Pro Tools Carbon is here!
My HDX is on the way out


Gigabyte Z490 Vision D - BIOS F21b
Intel Core I9 10850K Windows11 / macOS 10.15.7 Hackintosh / 32GB of Rams
Avid Carbon/HDX 2022.4 Ultimate - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo v.9.15.1 - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2 Bomber ADC
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EuCon version, Firmware and PT version Mark Ziebarth Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 5 02-22-2018 11:10 AM
003 firmware version HDLabs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-24-2008 12:36 AM
Firmware version? Denkelag 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-26-2006 02:07 AM
How do I get firmware version v1.20? jmsx521 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-11-2004 07:13 PM
Firmware version. computron General Discussion 0 07-13-2004 03:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com