Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2022, 05:03 PM
Songster Songster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 64
Default Moving everything to new Windows Computer

Has anyone moved their Crive to a new computer? Just looking for best practices as far as Windows 10, activation, drivers, programs, etc ...

I'm in the process and it looks like everything works except the Windows 10 OS is needing activation. There is no license tied to the new PC as it was a built from scratch with brand new parts. I'm trying to avoid having to purchase and install a new Win 10.

Any advice is appreciated.
Thanks
Nick

Old computer was HP z420 8 core, new one is Asus z390 mb with i7-9700K and 64 gb ram.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2022, 02:32 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,642
Default Re: Moving everything to new Windows Computer

If you have a retail version of Windows 10 you can just deactivate the license on your old computer and activate it on the new one. OEM licenses sometimes do not let you transfer them and it’s probably best to call MS before deactivating anything.

As far as moving things, this seems to be new hardware, so I wouldn’t bother with moving things and just do a fresh install of everything. If you really need to ‘move’ the drive, I’d buy a new drive for the system and use a tool like Paragon Drive Copy to migrate over to the new system.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2022, 06:32 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,371
Default Re: Moving everything to new Windows Computer

I did and it worked great! https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=415883
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2022, 10:07 AM
Songster Songster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 64
Default Re: Moving everything to new Windows Computer

So far so good. Had to purchase a new Win 10 key ($5.99 online) and phone activate, but that worked. I cloned both my main drive and my data drive to new drives so I could keep my old computer intact. After installing clones in new computer, everything so far has shown up. I'll let you know after I actually put it back in the studio and hook everything up if I have any other problems.

It's looking like it might be ok and looks like the drivers for the new hardware have been updated automatically. I may have to physically uninstall some things that were on the old computer, but haven't found any yet.

Any heads up of things to look out for is appreciated as I rehook it up and re-open PT and other programs.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving to a new computer - best way to do it? justinhill macOS 3 03-27-2019 12:08 PM
Moving to new computer Songster Pro Tools 2018 11 09-17-2018 09:05 AM
moving 9 to another computer rbsalyer Pro Tools 9 5 12-01-2016 07:35 PM
Moving PT to another computer. Iloopbari Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 08-30-2008 10:22 AM
DUY- Moving computer garret 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-31-2006 02:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com