Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-13-2022, 07:49 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,326
Default Re: Old school vs new school VCA vs Routed Folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
So all I have to do to adjust the faders simultaneously ,,, is highlight the group, or unhighlight it for individual fader control (which seems to me logistically the same for VCA's) either way you have to select switch for individual or group control)
This is what I find so great and simple about VCA's; in my workflow I almost never enable the groups, the VCA's still work. Say I solo the drums vca, I hear only drums. With drum group disabled, I can still solo, mute etc the individual drums. Makes navigating and mixing thru a session a breeze.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16gb RAM. MacOS 11.6.3 Big Sur. Pro Tools 2020.12.1.191.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Dynaudio BM6p, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-13-2022, 08:31 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,713
Default Re: Old school vs new school VCA vs Routed Folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
This is what I find so great and simple about VCA's; in my workflow I almost never enable the groups, the VCA's still work. Say I solo the drums vca, I hear only drums. With drum group disabled, I can still solo, mute etc the individual drums. Makes navigating and mixing thru a session a breeze.
Humm I guess I'll have to revisit VCA 's So yes with groups and folders. I have to the drum group enabled to solo the drum folder and hear only the drums. But if I want to hear only a single drum I do have to ungroup them. so there is that..
I am the opposite I almost always have the groups enabled and guess for me, I don't mind switching the group enable,, as much as like being able to collapse the folders
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.12 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-13-2022, 08:37 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,326
Default Re: Old school vs new school VCA vs Routed Folder

My point is, with the vca groups not active, the vcas still work for solo, mute and level. So with a vca for each major section in the mix, it's like there are groups enabled even if they are not.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16gb RAM. MacOS 11.6.3 Big Sur. Pro Tools 2020.12.1.191.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Dynaudio BM6p, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-13-2022, 08:51 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,713
Default Re: Old school vs new school VCA vs Routed Folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
My point is, with the vca groups not active, the vcas still work for solo, mute and level. So with a vca for each major section in the mix, it's like there are groups enabled even if they are not.
No hey I understand what you are saying and not disagreeing. Only saying different people have different work flow priorities
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.12 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-13-2022, 09:43 AM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 387
Default Re: Old school vs new school VCA vs Routed Folder

Post guy here. Non-routing folder tracks for organization, AUX's at the bottom of my session and VCA's within each group for control. I do a lot of automation rides, some at the track level and an overall pass on each group VCA.

If I'm understanding what's been said above, I'd love to have a VCA fader on a non-routing folder track.

tg
__________________
2019 iMac Retina 5K, 27-inch / 3.7 GHz 6-Core i5 / 96 GB / macOS Big Sur 11.6.1 / RME BabyFace Pro FS / SSL UF8 + UC1 / Yamaha MODX6 / Komplete S61 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12 / Nuendo 11 / Reaper 6 / Komplete 13 / Omnisphere / Keyscape / Trilian
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-13-2022, 10:13 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,607
Default Re: Old school vs new school VCA vs Routed Folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
My point is, with the vca groups not active, the vcas still work for solo, mute and level. So with a vca for each major section in the mix, it's like there are groups enabled even if they are not.
Yeah this is how I've taken to using groups as well. Only really enable them for editing e.g. multitrack drums or whatever.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-15-2022, 01:19 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 509
Default Re: Old school vs new school VCA vs Routed Folder

Folders are just better implementation of Auxes and groups. In fact when you open a session with folders on an older version of protools, they are displayed as Auxes and function the same.

Auxes - signal passes through, can add processing.
VCAs - just a remote control of other faders. No signal passes through them.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.8.0 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, macOS 11.6.6
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.4 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, MTRX Studio I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-15-2022, 01:33 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,326
Default Re: Old school vs new school VCA vs Routed Folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
Auxes - signal passes through, can add processing.
VCAs - just a remote control of other faders. No signal passes through them.
Yes. But you can also use the VCA's to solo/mute groups of tracks without the groups enabled, which is what I find very useful. I'm repeating myself.


(Slite example: I like to have a VCA called 'beat', which has drums and bass, I solo it, and I can immediately mute the bass, solo the hihat and so on because the vca group is not enabled. So with a vca for each major section of the session, I can move fast.)
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16gb RAM. MacOS 11.6.3 Big Sur. Pro Tools 2020.12.1.191.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Dynaudio BM6p, Command|8, SSL UC1.

Last edited by Ben Jenssen; 01-15-2022 at 01:42 PM. Reason: Added example
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-15-2022, 01:44 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,713
Default Re: Old school vs new school VCA vs Routed Folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Yes. But you can also use the VCA's to solo/mute groups of tracks without the groups enabled, which is what I find very useful. I'm repeating myself.
No ,not at , not really ,not so much, wait what ? . Jusss teasin'
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.12 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-20-2022, 09:19 AM
pweinrobe pweinrobe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 13
Default Re: Old school vs new school VCA vs Routed Folder

question for all you Routed Folder + S3/1 users:
is there a shortcut for "spill folder" that can be triggered from the keyboard?

i'd love to be able to do that instead of having to reach up and double click...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
School Req MBP i7 HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-08-2010 08:23 PM
Did school just get out?? dougied 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 21 05-06-2009 04:43 PM
pro school roark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-06-2004 01:00 PM
School spacemanmatt General Discussion 8 02-12-2004 01:32 PM
School spacemanmatt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-29-2004 03:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com