Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2001, 08:09 AM
apetrocelli apetrocelli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 148
Default Automation Window hidden features, what are they?

I have a Digi 001 with Pro Tools LE. I was having problems with CPU overloads, so I pop up the Automation Window, which has two meters, one for CPU usage and another for System(?) Usage.
I clicked on one of the two meters (I think to second one but I am not shure and I am not in the studio now)holding one of the three keys (option, command or control, I don't remember)and the window became bigger and some other metering numbers appeared.
Do you know what they mean and how to interpret them?
BTW, what is "System Usage"? Is it about the Digi, the OS, what?

Cheers, ANDRES
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2001, 08:55 AM
Zeus Zeus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 864
Default Re: Automation Window hidden features, what are they?

Heh, that's cool! I love all secret windows and stuff! [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] But you know the system usage refers simply to hard disk activity. (Right, Digi?)

Z
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2001, 11:16 AM
dabu2012 dabu2012 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 82
Default Re: Automation Window hidden features, what are they?

Are you using pt 5.0? In 5.1 the automation and system usage are in seperate windows. I couldn't get anything else to come up in 5.1 by clicking on the meters.

dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2001, 11:28 AM
apetrocelli apetrocelli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 148
Default Re: Automation Window hidden features, what are they?

Sorry for the vagueness on my instructions, but I am not on my Mac, I will be in the evening.
I am using Pro Tools LE 5.0-something, and in that one you ho to windows->automation [something]. Then you have some buttons in the upper part and two gauges in the lower part. If you click one of them (I think the lower one)while you are holding either control, options or command, that hidden window will appear.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-11-2001, 08:48 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,798
Default Re: Automation Window hidden features, what are they?

-The System Usage meter indicates how much of your system's processing power is being used in processing audio, and when writing and playing back automation.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-11-2001, 02:31 PM
apetrocelli apetrocelli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 148
Default Re: Automation Window hidden features, what are they?

thanks, Brent. Although I don't get a clear concept of what do you mean by "system". Is it the hardware, the software, both, the OS?
And what are the numbers that appear in the automation window when you click the System Load Gauge with the command key pressed?
It has two sections: DURATION (with Application, Total and Peak) and PERIOD (with min and Max). How do you interpret it?
cheers,
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-11-2001, 08:51 PM
Juergen Juergen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Asuncion, Paraguay
Posts: 301
Default Re: Automation Window hidden features, what are they?

So is "Andrés" the real ass of the world or Argentina? hehe. Just kidding, neighbor. I thought Paraguay was the ass of the world (Soy Paraguayo). Congratulations on winning the Mundial Sub 20, it is beautiful thing to watch Argentina play. In a sense I am glad Paraguay lost so miserably. I hope they had the chance to learn what real soccer is all about. I can't wait to see the Sub20 guys play in the next Worldcup.

Just out of context and to poke a little fun (the ass joke)...

Saludos,

Juergen
PS: Where in Argentina are you?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-2001, 08:56 PM
Juergen Juergen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Asuncion, Paraguay
Posts: 301
Default Re: Automation Window hidden features, what are they?

I have a question regarding the system measurment bar also...

I tried routing a stereo outboard fx unit through the 001, and as soon as I did it, the system gauge went up to 50% or 60%. Is this normal? If so, what happens when I try routing 3 units into the 001?

My CPU Usage was pretty high at the time...perhaps 60% or so...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-12-2001, 08:16 AM
apetrocelli apetrocelli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 148
Default Re: Automation Window hidden features, what are they?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Juergen:
So is "Andrés" the real ass of the world or Argentina? hehe. Just kidding, neighbor. I thought Paraguay was the ass of the world (Soy Paraguayo).
Don't be kidding, you are closer to the north and as we all know, the north is the head and the south is the ass. Ok, so you are an ass too, if that makes you happy [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

Congratulations on winning the Mundial Sub 20, it is beautiful thing to watch Argentina play. In a sense I am glad Paraguay lost so miserably. I hope they had the chance to learn what real soccer is all about. I can't wait to see the Sub20 guys play in the next Worldcup.
Thanks. Did you play with Brasil already? I hope that you win. BTW, now that we are not going to the América CUP, it seems that everybody in the continent hates us. Colombian terrorists said that the next time we play there they will kick the **** out of us.Hope you guys don't hate us too.
Just out of context and to poke a little fun (the ass joke)...

Saludos,

Juergen
PS: Where in Argentina are you?
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Buenos Aires. What kind of music do you make? Are there any good paraguayan rock bands (sorry for my ignorance)
Saludos,chamigo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-13-2001, 10:35 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,798
Default Re: Automation Window hidden features, what are they?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by apetrocelli:
what do you mean by "system". Is it the hardware, the software, both, the OS?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

-As far as I know, it is the total load being put on the CPU from both the software and hardware.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>And what are the numbers that appear in the automation window when you click the System Load Gauge with the command key pressed?
It has two sections: DURATION (with Application, Total and Peak) and PERIOD (with min and Max). How do you interpret it?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

-Unfortunately, I've never seen these windows and do not have a system currently running PT LE 5.0. In addition, these windows are not documented in our manuals...but I'll see what I can find out.

Brent

[ July 13, 2001: Message edited by: DigiTechSupt ]
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hidden dialog window Audioartist Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-27-2012 11:29 PM
Hidden Movie Window? Floydio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-05-2010 02:04 PM
The Hidden Features In Boom RussUK Virtual Instruments 19 01-12-2010 02:57 AM
Transport Window Hidden ??? HELP Munir 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-29-2008 10:37 PM
hidden window, could it be useful for a test? apetrocelli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-10-2002 12:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com