Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2021, 03:18 AM
tijroy tijroy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Default Pro Tools 2020 on Mac Pro Mid 2010?

Hello everyone,
Does anyone have experience of running Pro Tools 2020 on a Mac Pro 5.1 Mid 2010?
PT website says it doesn't support the Mid 2010, yet it does the 2012 models, which are essentially the same machine.
Any help greatly appreciated before I commit to purchase!
T
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2021, 03:44 AM
frank brunier frank brunier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 10
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on Mac Pro Mid 2010?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tijroy View Post
Hello everyone,
Does anyone have experience of running Pro Tools 2020 on a Mac Pro 5.1 Mid 2010?
PT website says it doesn't support the Mid 2010, yet it does the 2012 models, which are essentially the same machine.
Any help greatly appreciated before I commit to purchase!
T
hello tijroy,

i am running PT 2020.5.0 native on a Mac Pro Mid 2010 (2x 3,46 GHz 6-core, 64 GB RAM) on Mac OS 10.13.6.
i still use an old Digi 003 Rack-unit as interface.

for me it is working fine and stable every day.

i cannot say anything about newer versions of PT, though.

hope this helps!
frank.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2021, 04:31 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 646
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on Mac Pro Mid 2010?

Hi
3 machines here mid 2010 Mac Pro high sierra
running Ultimate 2020.11

Ale
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2021, 06:12 AM
tijroy tijroy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on Mac Pro Mid 2010?

Brilliant, thank you both.
Any particular reason you're sticking at High Sierra?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2021, 06:17 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,298
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on Mac Pro Mid 2010?

Mac Pro 5,1 can run up to Catalina with little upgrading and hacking
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2021, 06:38 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 646
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on Mac Pro Mid 2010?

Still had no time and the will to buy a metal grafic card for those machines.
So OSX upgrades are not possible.

But I do not really care cause all is perfect.
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2021, 06:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,298
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on Mac Pro Mid 2010?

Hmmh, maybe you worded it wrong, but just saying if you upgrade MP5,1 to Metal-compatible GPU you can use up to Catalina OS and while unsupported by Avid reports are it is working so long as you meet the Metal requirements
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2021, 08:02 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,511
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on Mac Pro Mid 2010?

I'm on a 12-core Mid-2010 here (with an updated graphics card), running 2020.12 quite happily. I didn't even know it wasn't supported. This computer is bloody phenomenal. 11 years old and still rocking!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2021, 04:17 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,699
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on Mac Pro Mid 2010?

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
I'm on a 12-core Mid-2010 here (with an updated graphics card), running 2020.12 quite happily. I didn't even know it wasn't supported. This computer is bloody phenomenal. 11 years old and still rocking!
Did you run open core / and on what OS version.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - HIGH SIERRA - PT 2020.3 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2021, 12:58 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,511
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020 on Mac Pro Mid 2010?

I’m on whatever the latest Mojave release is. Not had to go down the Opencore route yet, though that’s my plan once Tools stops supporting Mojave.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to uninstall Pro Tools 2020.11 and revert to 2020.9.1 ArKay99 macOS 10 02-27-2021 02:41 PM
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 07:46 AM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM
MAC PRO 2010 Pro Tools 12.5? philip888 macOS 26 05-15-2016 06:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com