Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:18 AM
theothermm theothermm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Leawood, KS
Posts: 1
Default Pro Control Main Unit freaking out

I have the Pro Control Main Unit and 2 Fader Packs.
Firmware COMv1.37
Pro Tools HD 8.0.1

I've had this set up for almost 2 years now, and just today, my main unit had an error in pro tools saying it could not connect via ethernet. But as soon as I cleared the message it worked for two more minutes, then the error popped up again. I tried switching cables to no avail.

Now the lights on the main unit are, for lack of better description, freaking out. Part of pixels start flashing like a broken iphone screen. I can turn it off and on and maybe use it for two minutes before it happens again. My fader packs are fine.

Any ideas? Is my main unit fried? Anyone else had this problem or know how to fix it?

Your help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2011, 10:10 PM
deafguy deafguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Boston
Posts: 194
Default Re: Pro Control Main Unit freaking out

Hi, most likely it's the power supply. A few years ago there were a lot of threads regarding this issue, try a search.
You could track down a new PS, but I'd recommend taking a stab at fixing it yourself.
If it's the 'same' problem, it's as simple as reheating the solder joints on the PS at the main connector. I don't know why, but for some reason those joints develop cracks over time.
Anyway, it'll take you longer to get access to the PS than it will to find and fix the cracks.

good luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Command main unit and X-mon Stylin' Audio Buy & Sell 4 10-27-2012 03:14 AM
Pro Control main unit power not working faders move qwertyuiop ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 08-16-2011 08:42 AM
Main unit of my D-control says "offline" corbittclam ICON & C|24 2 06-09-2011 12:56 PM
main unit track pad rique ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 02-26-2009 10:05 PM
Main control unit fader problem jackie ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 10-31-2007 09:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com