Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2015, 01:08 PM
RobbaDobba RobbaDobba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 298
Default Pro Tools 12 and Mac Pro 2009 (4,1 Nehalem)

So, Pro Tools 11 is certified with this model of Mac Pro, but 12 is not.

Is 12 really that different, underneath the hood, than 11? True, my Mac is 6 years old, but it's still a workhorse for me.

I'm still on PT 11 with Mac OS X 10.8.5 (Mountain Lion) and I'd like to move up to 10.11.x and PT 12. Is anyone successfully running this config on a 2009 Mac Pro?
__________________
One good thing about music: when it hits, you feel no pain. --Bob Marley

Rig: MacBook Pro (15,1) 6-Core i7 2.6GHz / 32GB RAM / OS 10.14.6 / PT 2020.12.1 / Waves Horizon v12 / iZotope Music Production Suite 4 / Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Mackie Baby HUI / Apple SSD AP1024M 1 TB (System), Samsung T5 SSD 1 TB (Audio) / Cal-Digit TS3 Plus TB3 Dock / Genelec 1030A Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2015, 01:24 PM
simonjewel's Avatar
simonjewel simonjewel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 295
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Mac Pro 2009 (4,1 Nehalem)

Mines a 2008 Mac Pro running Yosemite and pro tools 12.3 all day long with no issues whatsoever....
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.8 ghz Intel Zeon, 20 gig ram, Yosemite 10.10.5, Pro Tools 10,11,12.7.1, Logic Pro X 10.2, UA Apollo 16 quad, UA Octo Pcies, Dangerous Music 2 Bus, Antelope Audio Satori, Lynx Studio Hilo, Neve 542, Neve 511, API 505 DI, Bettermaker CV502. Avid Artist Mix, Avid Artist Control, Softube Console 1 mk11.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2015, 01:38 PM
audioman1973 audioman1973 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wilmington, OH
Posts: 207
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Mac Pro 2009 (4,1 Nehalem)

It's more an issue of the video card in the Nehalem 4.1 not playing well with the newer Apple drivers in Yosemite than a Pro Tools issue. I have the same MacPro and when I updated to Yosemite the graphics are very glitchy. The meters in Pro Tools will be very jerky looking to the point that the audio peaks are way behind the actual transient attack. I tried a newer 5770 video card like others who posted on this subject to no avail. It just doesn't work right. In the end I had to reinstall 10.8.5 which is time consuming and use the machine for my Avid Media Composer program and bought a new machine for Pro Tools. If you try it you will wish you hadn't wasted your time in my opinion. Just trying to help.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.7.1, 2 X UA Apollo x8p TB3 and TB3 Octo Satellite with UAD Plugins. Various Avid Sonnox Flux Drumagog and Plugin Alliance plugins. Motu MIDI Express 128, Windows 10 Pro, Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH motherboard, 64 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, Intel i7 6700k, Samsung 950 M2 OS drive and 2 X Samsung SSD plus spinner drives
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2015, 03:40 PM
nainesh nainesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 199
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Mac Pro 2009 (4,1 Nehalem)

I'm running 4.1, 2009, 2.66, 16gb ram with pro tools 12 and am having no problems.
__________________
Home: Pro Tools 2021.3.1, Mac Pro 5.1, 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, macOS 10.14.6, 32GB RAM, Crucial SSD MX500, Audient ID22

Studio: Pro Tools 8 HD2, Lynx Aurora, Power PC

http://www.snorkelstudios.co.uk

http://www.flotationtoywarning.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2015, 04:11 PM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,166
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Mac Pro 2009 (4,1 Nehalem)

Same here.

And PS, 12.3 is running well on my 2009 17" Matt Screen Core2Duo Unibody MacBook Pro too!
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.14.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite OctopreLE and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad Silver with Thunderbolt card, Apollo x4 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2020.3, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 10, Logic Pro X 10.4.8, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2015, 04:40 PM
Peter Duemmler Peter Duemmler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Neuwied, Germany
Posts: 786
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Mac Pro 2009 (4,1 Nehalem)

audioman1973, what's your problems with the 5770? I have it in my Nehalem and it works absolutely fine...
__________________
http://www.merlinsound.de
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2015, 07:43 PM
RobbaDobba RobbaDobba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 298
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Mac Pro 2009 (4,1 Nehalem)

I have the same exact machine as nainesh, only with 12GB of RAM instead of 16. I wonder why so many AREN'T having issues, yet audioman1973 is having such a different experience?

Incidentally, my video card is the NVIDIA GeForce GT 120, 512MB
__________________
One good thing about music: when it hits, you feel no pain. --Bob Marley

Rig: MacBook Pro (15,1) 6-Core i7 2.6GHz / 32GB RAM / OS 10.14.6 / PT 2020.12.1 / Waves Horizon v12 / iZotope Music Production Suite 4 / Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Mackie Baby HUI / Apple SSD AP1024M 1 TB (System), Samsung T5 SSD 1 TB (Audio) / Cal-Digit TS3 Plus TB3 Dock / Genelec 1030A Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2015, 11:40 PM
nainesh nainesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 199
Default Pro Tools 12 and Mac Pro 2009 (4,1 Nehalem)

I forgot to mention that I'm booting from an SSD drive. The graphics card is the standard GT 120.

I'm also running PT11 on an HDD booting from Mavericks. Again no issues here.

Incidentally my sessions are running at 44.1 khz, 24bit.
__________________
Home: Pro Tools 2021.3.1, Mac Pro 5.1, 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, macOS 10.14.6, 32GB RAM, Crucial SSD MX500, Audient ID22

Studio: Pro Tools 8 HD2, Lynx Aurora, Power PC

http://www.snorkelstudios.co.uk

http://www.flotationtoywarning.co.uk

Last edited by nainesh; 11-08-2015 at 12:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2015, 03:07 AM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 193
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Mac Pro 2009 (4,1 Nehalem)

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioman1973 View Post
It's more an issue of the video card in the Nehalem 4.1 not playing well with the newer Apple drivers in Yosemite than a Pro Tools issue. I have the same MacPro and when I updated to Yosemite the graphics are very glitchy. The meters in Pro Tools will be very jerky looking to the point that the audio peaks are way behind the actual transient attack. I tried a newer 5770 video card like others who posted on this subject to no avail. It just doesn't work right. In the end I had to reinstall 10.8.5 which is time consuming and use the machine for my Avid Media Composer program and bought a new machine for Pro Tools. If you try it you will wish you hadn't wasted your time in my opinion. Just trying to help.
This is could be a solution from the Apple board for anyone suffering issues:

"Rosewood216
Jan 30, 2015 11:49 AM
Re: Problems with ATI Radeon HD 5770 In Yosemite and Pro Tools 11
in response to Rosewood216
Hello everybody first of all I would like to say Thank You to the replys and the help. I did a long google reaserch about my problem and I found it is Yosemite & also Mavericks was doing the samething thats i didn't use mavericks. Long story short to solve my problems I had to download Xcode and install Quartz Debug and then disable Beam Sync and everything is working perfectly fine. NO JITTERY **** YEAAAAHHHH. Like I said video card is fine nothings wrong. So like I said APPLE YOU GUYS HAVE TO FIX THIS. But i'm fine for now LOL. Thanks everybody."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2015, 10:07 AM
RobbaDobba RobbaDobba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 298
Default Pro Tools 12 and Mac Pro 2009 (4,1 Nehalem)

I've read about the Quartz Debug/Beam Sync thing. That wouldn't put me off of upgrading, though my video card is NVIDIA, not ATI.

Would the switch to a SSD or SSD Hybrid drive make a huge impact? That'd seem like a cheap enough upgrade to the Mac to keep things smooth in the PT 12 world...if it's absolutely necessary.
__________________
One good thing about music: when it hits, you feel no pain. --Bob Marley

Rig: MacBook Pro (15,1) 6-Core i7 2.6GHz / 32GB RAM / OS 10.14.6 / PT 2020.12.1 / Waves Horizon v12 / iZotope Music Production Suite 4 / Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Mackie Baby HUI / Apple SSD AP1024M 1 TB (System), Samsung T5 SSD 1 TB (Audio) / Cal-Digit TS3 Plus TB3 Dock / Genelec 1030A Monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools 11 on 3.33 ghz nehalem? mightyduck Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 09-14-2014 05:39 PM
Pro Tools 11 With MacBook Pro 2009 SoulBlessed macOS 4 11-27-2013 12:34 PM
Pro Tools LE 8 with 2009 iMac? brandonelam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-05-2012 09:34 PM
MAC PRO 8 CORE 2.26 (Nehalem 2009) 4.1 ANY GOOD WITH HD NATIVE karljohnson Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 11-14-2011 09:50 PM
2009 Quad or 2009 8-Core Nehalem? psmworld Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-08-2010 03:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com