Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2021, 01:03 PM
Scot1970 Scot1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
Default Cannot activate PT11, old license missing

Hi there,

I am trying to activate PT11 on my old Macbook Pro. However, in order to do that I have to surrender the previous license (PT 9+10 bundle). When I try I get an error message in the iLok manager, "one or more licenses to surrender cannot be found in your account."

Sure enough, the PT 11 (part of a PT upgrade bundle from 2015) license is listed in the iLok Manager's 'all licenses' window, but PT 9+10 is missing.

How do I get this to show again so I can surrender?

Thank you.
Scot
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2021, 01:19 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,427
Default Re: Cannot activate PT11, old license missing

PT11 does not need PT9 or PT10 license to run, in only seeks a license for PT11. Double-check your license key and perhaps copypaste here what should be on your key. It is possible (just trying to scare you) that the license key is broken.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2021, 01:26 PM
Scot1970 Scot1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
Default Re: Cannot activate PT11, old license missing

Hey JFreak,

Do you mean the serial number of the old license or do you mean the iLok dongle/key might be broken? If you mean the physical iLok, it's working fine with my other licences. Anyhow, here's a screen grab of what happens when I try to surrender...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2021-04-13 at 1.24.43 PM.jpg (51.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2021, 01:51 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,427
Default Re: Cannot activate PT11, old license missing

Okay so what I understand from that picture is you have some sort of PT11 upgrade license that obviously requires you give up your old PT9+10 license bundle. The error message says iLok License Manager does not see that license bundle on your license key. Can you verify you have that license bundle?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2021, 01:53 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,427
Default Re: Cannot activate PT11, old license missing

License surrender means just that, in order to deposit new (upgraded) license to your license key, old one must be deleted first. And if the old license cannot be withdrawn, new license cannot be deposited.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2021, 01:56 PM
Scot1970 Scot1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
Default Re: Cannot activate PT11, old license missing

Yes, and that's the problem. I cannot surrender what is no longer there. I'm stuck.
Here are two screen grabs of the bundle I am trying to upgrade to...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2021-04-13 at 1.53.12 PM.jpg (41.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2021-04-13 at 1.53.37 PM.jpg (59.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2021, 02:13 PM
Scot1970 Scot1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
Default Re: Cannot activate PT11, old license missing

Oh, one more thing: I am also currently subscribing to an up-to-date Pro Tools licence for my iMac (I use the old laptop when working away from home). Would that have had something to do with the disappearance of the PT9+10 bundle?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2021, 02:42 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,427
Default Re: Cannot activate PT11, old license missing

As far as I can tell, you have PT11 license in there. Which version you are trying to use?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2021, 02:45 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,427
Default Re: Cannot activate PT11, old license missing

Little bit confused though. Your pic says you also have DigiLink I/O license but those boxes are not working with standard software but require HD/Ultimate license. And that license is not needed until 12.6 and later.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2021, 02:46 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,427
Default Re: Cannot activate PT11, old license missing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scot1970 View Post
Oh, one more thing: I am also currently subscribing to an up-to-date Pro Tools licence for my iMac (I use the old laptop when working away from home). Would that have had something to do with the disappearance of the PT9+10 bundle?
If you have surrendered that license to get a better deal for your subscription? I have no idea what you have been offered. But you can only surrender licenses once, they are gone when you give them away.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help - license activate Jamie Howarth Licensing & Accounts 3 12-30-2020 11:15 PM
Activate PT11 Without Installing? EarBud Pro Tools 11 16 12-24-2014 05:06 PM
How to activate my old plugins in PT11? quoob Pro Tools 11 10 06-05-2014 06:36 PM
how to activate TC/E in PT11.02? maquisar Pro Tools 11 1 12-03-2013 07:10 AM
iLok License Missing After Upgrading to PT11 nickjm macOS 0 07-07-2013 12:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com