Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:13 PM
ptal ptal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default Opening Session Hangs/Freezes System

Hi,

I brought ten sessions home from a Mac/HD studio and transfered them onto my
XP Pro machine. I can open seven of the ten but when I try to open the others
my system hangs. The task manager gives the not responding message for the
Pro Tools application.

It happens almost immediately after selecting the session from the file browser.
The same error occurs on a second similar Pro Tools PC machine. It appears the
PTS is corrupt. Opening one of the auto backup PTS also hangs the system.

Double clicking the PTS from Explorer gives the following error:
Could not complete your request beacuse: The parameter is
incorrect [87]

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Pro Tools LE 6.4
MBox
Win XP Pro SP1
AMD Athlon
1 Gig RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:40 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Opening Session Hangs/Freezes System

What happens if you try to import the session data into a new session?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:59 AM
ptal ptal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default Re: Opening Session Hangs/Freezes System[Error 87]

That's a good idea. I created a new session and did a File - Import Session Data
and tried to open the offending PTS file but it hangs Pro Tools as well.

And would you believe they deleted the original sessions at the studio. I thought
of taking my backup to the studio and having them open it on Mac/HD and then
resave it or export the regions or something.

Any other thoughts or experiences with this scenario?

Thanks in advance

andre'
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2006, 10:56 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Opening Session Hangs/Freezes System[Error 87]

Is there anything in common between the problematic sessions - possibly a particular plug-in being used?

You may try removing suspect plug-ins, as that could possibly be a cause.

What version of Pro Tools were the sessions done on?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2006, 11:08 AM
yogev-sam yogev-sam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 155
Default Re: Opening Session Hangs/Freezes System[Error 87]

Its happens to me - because we saved the session with full plugins that my PC couldn't handle -
we saved copy from that session with no plugins "Root plug-in untick" & it fix it .
be sure your playback engine is setup to 1024 - 2024 depend on your processor & CPU to maximum it could be performance problem.{ before you try to open the session }
__________________
Yogev Samina
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2006, 03:06 PM
ptal ptal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default Re: Opening Session Hangs/Freezes System[Error 87]

Thank you everyone for your replies. I think you are correct in that there are probably
plugins that LE can't handle. The sessions were recorded in 6.7 and I am trying to open
them in 6.4

So taking them to an HD studio and removing the plugins should be a worthwhile excercise?

I will post again to this topic once I make some progress.

Thanks again everyone and thank you to Digi Tech Support for posting and for the good
suggestion.

andre'
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2006, 02:34 PM
ptal ptal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default Re: Opening Session Hangs/Freezes System[Error 87]

I am posting an update in case anyone comes across this thread in future.

We took the session to an HD studio and tried to open them but that didn't
work either. What we ended up doing was piecing the whole session back
together using spot mode and placing each region at the correct sample time.

We got a good 80% - 90% back in place and considering that there is still
tracking work to be done on the session this is not a bad outcome.

The issue probably was one of not having access to the plugins used on the
original session.

Thanks again.

andre'
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 11 boots, but hangs on opening a session. Hugo.K Getting Started 12 11-10-2013 05:36 AM
Opening a PT session freezes my PC cthorp7 Windows 8 05-22-2013 08:19 PM
Opening Session Hangs on Restoring Tracks.... dts.music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 04-29-2009 01:49 AM
PT 7 Hangs while opening a session Baseman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-24-2006 06:15 AM
PTLE on XP hangs opening a session paganini12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-22-2002 01:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com