Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-14-2000, 06:30 PM

Default Anyone seen this....

I'll admit it - as well as a musician, I'm an avid computer gamer. I have a Voodoo3 AGP card in my machine as well as a SB Live. I have 2 hardware profiles set up on my machine - one for PTLE with EVERYTHING disabled except for the 001 and one for normal (read, gaming!) with the 001 disabled and everything else enabled. I can't play ANY 3D games since installing the 001 in my machine! I can load the games and play them for a couple of minutes and then my machine just freezes and I have to power off/on. The weird thing is, I can play the games all for about the same amount of time before the lockup. My machine reports NO resource conflicts. I've tried various IRQ settings, changing from PNP OS to no PNP OS in the BIOS. Haven't resorted to rearranging the PCI cards yet. Anyone have any ideas?
Old 12-14-2000, 11:49 PM

Default Re: Anyone seen this....

Perhaps you are using your digi soung cards wave drivers to supply the sound for the games. I would go to the sound options of the game and make sure it is using the SB Live!, and not the 001 wave drivers. If this does not work then, i would try to disable the 001 in the normal profile (i dont have to in mine) to try to make sure the game searches for and uses the sb live. Also check to make sure that the live card is loaded in the game profile. The digi wave drivers where not designed to play games, although they may work, i would think that the games may be a little too demanding for what you would need.

Good luck
Christian
Old 12-15-2000, 05:39 AM