Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2004, 03:44 PM
fasttraxx fasttraxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 669
Default midi interface for HD non digidesign

Hello Friends,
I am just updating my system from PT 5.3.1 and OS 9.2.2. to PT Accel 6.4 and OS 10.3.4 and I am going to need a midi interface. I will need at least 4 in/out. I have heard the midi sport is one to consider, but I was wondering if there was any others that preople are using without problems.
__________________
Thanks and God Bless!
Y.B.I.C.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2004, 05:57 PM
surroundguy surroundguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 177
Default Re: midi interface for HD non digidesign

remember, a midi sport interface (or any other non Digi interface) won't support MIDI time stamping in Pro Tools so it will suffer from MIDI slop. if you are doing percussion or complex synth stuff, you might want consider that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2004, 09:36 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: midi interface for HD non digidesign

Keep in mind Digi (Avid) just acquired M-AUDIO and most likely there will be new product at NAMM maybe even AES.
FWIW I use a MIDI Sport 2x2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2004, 09:52 AM
fasttraxx fasttraxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 669
Default Re: midi interface for HD non digidesign

Good point,
I think I will buy a midi sport 2x2 to get by with then wait to see what happends.
Thanks!
__________________
Thanks and God Bless!
Y.B.I.C.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2004, 09:53 AM
fasttraxx fasttraxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 669
Default Re: midi interface for HD non digidesign

surroundguy,
What exactly is midi time stamping?
__________________
Thanks and God Bless!
Y.B.I.C.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2004, 11:03 AM
A1's Avatar
A1 A1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 443
Default Re: midi interface for HD non digidesign

Does MTP-AV support MIDI time stamping in PT?
__________________
:+:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2004, 12:17 PM
thothprod thothprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 169
Default Re: midi interface for HD non digidesign

Don't forget Motu and Emagic Midi interfaces....they are 2 of the best....and most expensive...but hey you get what you pay for...go to their respective sites and check out what they got available






ThothProd
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-17-2004, 12:27 PM
Infa Infa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: midi interface for HD non digidesign

Yes,, I agree thothprod, I use, and have been using for about 3 years now the "Motu Micro Express". For the amount of midi you stated you needed, it is a perfect buy. Motu (Mark Of The Unicorn) is , and has been known to pretty much be the best at midi interfaces. Thats not even my opinion alone, but a percentage opinion of a majority of the pros. (At least the ones I talked to)...

But, about the midi time stamp thing,, I don't know. I never heard that Motu is not capable of sending Time Stamped Midi to Pro Tools, but I am not saying it is NOT true. But I will tell you one thing, in the 5 years I have been using Midi, I have never came across the reason for needing my midi "Time Stamped"(unless it already is, and I just don't know it) -- And my Midi is no "sloppier" than anyone elses. (or any more than midi already is in the first place should I say)... And I have been involved in probably one of the MOST elaborate synth structures ever..... Did it, and did it no prob.

Anyway, you asked for suggestions, and this one here is Motu --

Hope This Helps--
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digidesign MIDI interface 685 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-09-2006 01:06 PM
midi interface and HD non digidesign fasttraxx Tips & Tricks 0 09-08-2004 03:41 PM
Digidesign MIDI Interface ikke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-06-2004 04:41 PM
Digidesign MIDI interface` hiltonius Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-11-2002 05:54 PM
Digidesign MIDI Interface Baba Omar Jun Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-26-2000 07:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com