Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2005, 05:58 PM
H-man H-man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 478
Default How are you using Analog Channel?

I just ordered this plug. Just wondering how you guys are using AC 1 & 2 in your setup? How are you liking these two? I personally, cannot wait to get my hands on this plugin!!!!!
__________________
Don't be a puppet on strings!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2005, 07:12 PM
Greg M Greg M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Alpena, MI
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: How are you using Analog Channel?

H-man,

Generally, I put an AC-1 as the first plug on the mix bus using what I think is an SSL Console preset. I put in on before I start mixing. As far as AC-2 goes, I usually put it on distorted guitar tracks (pick your favorite tape recorder model). IMHO these plugs really do help deal with "digital edge" and warm things up a bit.

Once you get the feel for using these plugs, you might also consider trying the DUY DAD Valve plug to add some more analog feel (subtle distortion) to your tracks. DUY has a nice 5 plug-in bundle for LE.

Hope this helps,
Greg
__________________
Intel i7 3930K, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 (rev 1.0), 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidea GT 720 TI video card, a Samsung 850 Pro (256 GB) OS drive, 2 Samsung 850 Pro's (512 GB) in externally mounted drive bays for session and sample storage, Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate (Native)2019.10, HD Omni, HD I/O 16x16 .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2005, 07:47 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: How are you using Analog Channel?

I use AC1 and AC2 on every mix I do.

Here is an AC 2 tip.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2005, 10:04 PM
rockrev rockrev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 537
Default Re: How are you using Analog Channel?

AC1 on the master buss - always. I usually start with Console 1 or 3 (like Charles Dye suggests). I've used AC2 to help flatten a vocal track or two when a compressor/limiter simply wasn't cutting it. It will effect the EQ, but nothing that can't be managed with a little tweaking. Other than that, I'll use AC1 here and there to give a track a little more thickness (if needed).

As a side note, I find myself using Waves RenComp as a color/saturation effect lately. Try the "Kneeless Opto" preset as your first insert (trust me - it's a low ratio setting meant for this kind of thing). You'll have to pull the threshold down quite a bit, but it gives it a nice color - much less than AC2 and somewhat less than AC1 - but the color is there and it makes for a nice blend in the mix. It's been working out real nice in a jazz session I'm doing (where maintaining transparency is a must). Try it!

rockrev
__________________
End world poverty: ONE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2005, 07:45 AM
yavuzj yavuzj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,039
Default Re: How are you using Analog Channel?

AC! and AC 2 is not available for PT LE right?
__________________
Yavuz AKYAZICI
Guitar Player, Composer
http://cdbaby.com/cd/volcano
http://volcanojazz.com
http://myspace.com/volcanojazz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2005, 07:56 AM
rockrev rockrev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 537
Default Re: How are you using Analog Channel?

It's been available for a while now - works with 6.4 too (though they don't mention it).

rockrev
__________________
End world poverty: ONE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:46 AM
Ben B Ben B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 80
Default Re: How are you using Analog Channel?

I don't really care for AC1, but I use AC2 quite a bit. Most often, I use it on the master fader (gently) to sort of glue the whole mix sound together. Sometimes it's just the ticket -- other times not. Overall, I'd say I've been happiest with the results when I use it sparingly.

-Ben B
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2005, 11:42 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: How are you using Analog Channel?

Quote:
AC! and AC 2 is not available for PT LE right?
Been out for quite some time now.

Shane

__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Analog Channel(AC1) or Renaissance Channel Choral14 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-29-2006 07:07 AM
mcdsp Analog channel vs analog channel LE psus15 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-13-2006 11:45 AM
Analog Channel GregJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-14-2005 07:33 PM
analog channel nwilson@hns.com Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-19-2001 12:50 AM
analog channel drenched 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-16-2001 12:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com