Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2022, 03:57 AM
wizewize wizewize is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: London
Posts: 10
Default 10.8.5 Upgrade to 10.9.5 OSX Process ?

Hello

Can anyone advise me on the best process to install Mavericks.

Do i upgrade/update from 10.8.5 (ML) or do I just do a fresh install of mavericks (Erasing 10.8.5 first) ?

(Pro Tools 10HD/11HD + HD Thunderbolt + 96IO)


Thank you!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2022, 06:01 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 489
Default Re: 10.8.5 Upgrade to 10.9.5 OSX Process ?

I don't have any specific recommendations for the transition from Mountain Lion to Mavericks, but, for a dedicated PT machine, where you demand reliability, I would always make a backup (or three) of the existing machine, erase the disk, then do a completely fresh install of everything.

I'm assuming you have a very clear reason that you need to move to 10.9?

Dominic
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2022, 02:29 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,020
Default Re: 10.8.5 Upgrade to 10.9.5 OSX Process ?

PT10 may not run on OSX 10.9.5 according to the compatibility chart.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2022, 03:52 AM
lonestarparis lonestarparis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 186
Default Re: 10.8.5 Upgrade to 10.9.5 OSX Process ?

I have more or less the same question..



I'm still on PT 10.3.7 and OS 10.8.5 on a late 2013 iMac. It's working fine for what I love to record (thanks to a few workarounds).


But I'm aware that I'm missing out on possibilities that come with a 64-bit system.



Unfortunately these days my budget is limited. Therefor my question: Can I replace PT 10.3.7 with the first version of PT 11?
__________________
PT 10.3.7
iMac late 2014
OS X 10.8.5
Digi 002 console
Digi 003 rack (not in use)
Novation 25 sl mk 2 controller
Focusrite Platinum Voicemaster pro
AKG 451 C matched pair
AKG 414 C XLS matched pair
Sennheiser 406 T matched pair
Mackie HR824 mk2

lots of fine guitars


homestudio, retired guitar teacher, enjoying life and recording
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2022, 04:37 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,020
Default Re: 10.8.5 Upgrade to 10.9.5 OSX Process ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonestarparis View Post
I have more or less the same question..

I'm still on PT 10.3.7 and OS 10.8.5 on a late 2013 iMac. It's working fine for what I love to record (thanks to a few workarounds).

But I'm aware that I'm missing out on possibilities that come with a 64-bit system.

Unfortunately these days my budget is limited. Therefor my question: Can I replace PT 10.3.7 with the first version of PT 11?
You could but you need a new license asset. To do that you'd need to find someone who's selling their old PT 11 license. And don't forget your plugins - they'd have to be aax64 compatible; some plugins early on in aax format were both aax 32 and aax 64. All your RTAS plugins will not work in PT11. PT 10 was a bridge between the RTAS and aax format.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2022, 01:50 PM
uuhn uuhn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: NU
Posts: 1
Default Re: 10.8.5 Upgrade to 10.9.5 OSX Process ?

youtube.com/watch?v=NTBhxYAhAJw seen?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2022, 07:18 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,020
Default Re: 10.8.5 Upgrade to 10.9.5 OSX Process ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by uuhn View Post
youtube.com/watch?v=NTBhxYAhAJw seen?
This is a fool's errand - you might get PT10 installed but it won't work right. Why waste the time?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does the upgrade process work? Famudeedo Pro Tools 11 5 06-10-2013 06:48 AM
Need Advise on Best Upgrade Process Carvedtop macOS 7 12-09-2012 05:40 PM
Upgrade/Crossgrade process NewdestinyX Pro Tools 9 7 11-15-2010 03:01 PM
Upgrade from 7.1 to 7.3 Process wedgehead 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-25-2006 12:02 AM
upgrade process wbmwgerry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-03-2006 08:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com