Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2003, 06:11 PM
T-MAC T-MAC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Default Which Gateway P.C. for 002

Digi recomends aGateway 500 L for 001, and a Gateway 4 L for 002.What I need to know is are these machines up to par for use with a 002.I just got a 002 about a week ago and I need to get a P.C right away.So please any help is appreciated.Machine #1= Pent 4- 2.4,512 333MHZ DDR SDRAM,160GB Ultra ATA 100 7200 RPM hard drive w/ 8MB cache,48/24/48 CDRW, Windows XP Home.Machine # 2= Same as above but with a Pent 4- 2.6 Machine #1 cost $1353.00 And machine #2 cost $1453.00 They also come with a modem and some other software and DODAT's and a 17 inch CRT monitar. Once again thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2003, 11:24 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 2,989
Default Re: Which Gateway P.C. for 002

Do NOT get a Gateway for audio, they make horrible computers for such a task! Gateway builds computers for home and office use, NOT for intense digital audio.
__________________
Thank you,
Brad Lyons
www.howavl.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2003, 12:42 AM
Aln Aln is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Plainview,N.Y.USA
Posts: 167
Default Re: Which Gateway P.C. for 002

Quote:
Originally posted by BradLyons:
Do NOT get a Gateway for audio, they make horrible computers for such a task! Gateway builds computers for home and office use, NOT for intense digital audio.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">While I agree wholeheartedly with that,Digi has been bundling their 001/002 with Gateway machines at GC and other vendors recently.Maybe Gateway's newer stuff is better? Couldn't tell you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2003, 10:42 AM
MikeD MikeD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Posts: 179
Default Re: Which Gateway P.C. for 002

Quote:
Originally posted by BradLyons:
Do NOT get a Gateway for audio, they make horrible computers for such a task! Gateway builds computers for home and office use, NOT for intense digital audio.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">My first studio computer was a Gateway PIII and was very solid. That was two and a half years ago. I'm now onto computer number three since then (self built) but my Gateway was fine at the time. In fact, I'm typing on it now [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Mike Dresch
Cathouse Productions
www.elbo.net/cathouse
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2003, 10:59 AM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,195
Default Re: Which Gateway P.C. for 002

Honestly I would do all I could to stay away from the Gateways.... Not that I hype up the DELL's either, but the Gateways are notorious for Drive problems and CPU issues. Why not build your system to your specs and put it together. Cheaper and you can get what you want! without all the extra junk and load up waht you want...

Just a thought!
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON YOUTUBE

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2003, 11:22 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Which Gateway P.C. for 002

'drive problems' and 'cpu issues' are pretty vague. They don't make their own drives or CPU's, so what might be behind these problems?
Bad cooling? Inferior motherboards?

Just curious - I've never bought an assembled PC, and don't expect to.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2003, 02:41 PM
da BaSsTaRd! da BaSsTaRd! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: Which Gateway P.C. for 002

Quote:
Originally posted by tele_player:
Inferior motherboards?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">yup. they buy custom mobos with everything built in to save money on "real" equipment like high-quality video cards. typically, they're limited on how far they can be upgraded and they come with fewer than 5 pci slots. sometimes no agp at all...
__________________
i love my apple iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2003, 09:32 PM
timtraynor timtraynor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Bishop,CA, USA
Posts: 144
Default Re: Which Gateway P.C. for 002

I use a Gateway 400x laptop with a 002 and it kicks butt. It never crashes and it has more power than I need. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Rock On!
www.backstagegear.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2003, 03:00 AM
pscz pscz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: nyc
Posts: 29
Default Re: Which Gateway P.C. for 002

i'm using a refurbished dell 4550 with a pentium 4 2.6 that cost me $600 (including shipping) from their website. it works beautifully, with no adjustments whatsoever. not a single crash yet and it's been in near constant use for a couple of months.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-14-2003, 04:57 AM
vocalvoodoo's Avatar
vocalvoodoo vocalvoodoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 1,478
Default Re: Which Gateway P.C. for 002

You have to get the right Gateway if you get one.

Quote:
yup. they buy custom mobos with everything built in to save money on "real" equipment like high-quality video cards. typically, they're limited on how far they can be upgraded and they come with fewer than 5 pci slots. sometimes no agp at all...
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">When I first got mine from Gateway, I made sure it was upgradable. I had 5 PCI's and an AGP slot.
They have many models. Their lower end boxes are for basic home users with everything integrated. Sound, LAN, video etc. If you go with Gateway, just tell the sales rep what you need it for and be specific about what you want. Especially about upgradability! That's what I did and it worked out fine. Pro Tools ran fine with that p4 1.4.

Although I have since changed out almost everything from that box except for the floppy and the CD drive.

If you are newer to computers or aren't mechanically inclined I think Gateway is an OK choice, but definately over priced. My Gateway taught me how to work on computers and I'll never buy from a company like Dell or Gateway again. You can get all they offer for a LOT less buy building your own.

And be weary of Gateways extended warranty crap. I fell for it and am still paying for a warranty on a computer that isn't even used anymore exept for the box, CD and floppy drive. But I guess that goes for any extended warrany. Great money maker for the company but rarely used buy the buyer.

And I'll tell you this, just checked out Dell and Gateway, and the Dell are MUCH cheaper than the Gateways.

p4 2.4
512
ASUS P4PE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gateway PC, is it enough? Ryanwasoba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-04-2007 02:18 PM
gateway 518 notebook? ggmmss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-10-2005 06:38 AM
001 or 002 with Gateway Niklast 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-12-2004 10:43 PM
The Gateway/ 001 combo dwkick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-21-2003 10:00 PM
Digi 001 on Gateway orebts 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-25-2000 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com