Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2001, 07:16 PM
Free Vision Productions Free Vision Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 8
Default Incessant --6042 & -6045 errors on fast system

Hello... I am getting constant (every time I try to perform any action in any session) -6042 & -6045 errors on my system. I am running a digi001/ protools LE system with about 15 tracks of audio on a G4 Dual 533mhz w/ around 700mb of RAM. I have lots of memory allocated to both DAE and Pro Tools. I have a second display card (PCI) and a firewire external hard disk (60gb), both of which I use with protools. Does anyone know what may be causing these errors? I used to get them once every couple hours or so, and all of a sudden I get them every ten seconds. Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
Andrew

[ July 01, 2001: Message edited by: Free Vision Productions ]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2001, 07:56 PM
dcornutt dcornutt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Incessant --6042 & -6045 errors on fast system

Disable the apple MP extension (if you haven't already). Sorry if this is repeating things..but..PT does not use the 2nd cpu. This has been known to cause bus timing errors.

2nd..check out the support section. Look for articles about using ADAT optical on the 001. The gist of it is..if you use spdif your ok. Switching to optical ADAT will cause the cpu usage to jump 50% leading to the errors you describe.

Hope that helps.

dcornutt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2001, 10:33 AM
DPM DPM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 92
Default Re: Incessant --6042 & -6045 errors on fast system

Hey,
Have you checked out our thread on dual monitor problems with the new macs and 5.1? http://duc.digidesign.com/cgi-bin/ul...&f=24&t=005724

I still have nothing to report out on it yet though. Still configuring my system folder with the new digi only partition.

Hope it helps,
Most Humble,
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2001, 07:10 AM
Mr T Mr T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,275
Default Re: Incessant --6042 & -6045 errors on fast system

It's been 2 times this week, I've been running through that 6042 error ("The PCI bus is too busy for DAE to communicate reliably with the audio hardware"). It seems to be totally random, which makes it even more annoying...
All I know is that it only seems to happen with my ultra SCSI drive (which rate I've already lowered down to 40).
The first time I got this was when trying to record in one of my sessions (though I had been recording in other, bigger, sessions all day).
Today I got it when trying to bounce a song (also not a particulary big one; I had bounce it in the past without running into any problem...).PT would start bouncing, and after about 5 seconds...-6042. I had been bouncing other songs from the same drive just minutes before and it worked fine.
Being in a hurry, I've tried to make a copy of that session in my G4's drive; the bounce to disk worked perfectly from that drive. The only thing I did in the meantime(after bouncing the first songs and before trying to bounce the "corrupted" one) was some burning on a CD (using toast). The strange thing is that,after I was successfull bouncing from G4 Drive, I tried to burn the resulting file to CD, but toast didn't see the internal Mac CD burner anymore. He only did after a restart.
Brent, or anyone else, could you try to help us on this one?
I'll run some test of my own as soon as I'll get the time.
__________________
Some music?... http://tmweb.free.fr
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2001, 07:13 AM
Mr T Mr T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,275
Default Re: Incessant --6042 & -6045 errors on fast system

BTW, forgot the usual procedure...
I'm using a G4/667 (no dual CPU here...) with OS 9.1, Ultra SCSI II card and drives (formated with ATTO Express Pro Tools).
__________________
Some music?... http://tmweb.free.fr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
001 PCI bus overload and 9094 6045 6042 errors AMZavareei 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-31-2005 12:02 AM
DAE 6045 errors msunj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-26-2004 09:49 PM
DAE 6045 errors, why???? mamacita 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-20-2003 09:59 AM
DAE -6042 errors on 001 xp system tay boogie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-30-2003 05:46 PM
any PowerPC 9600 users ? with PTle and errors like 6042 or 6045 yoursick studio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-08-2001 07:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com