Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2015, 10:56 AM
JB Retro City JB Retro City is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 12
Default Getting 9093 Errors on a new PTHD 12 Native System

Hi there,

We're running Pro Tools HD 12 Native Pcie on a newly refurbished Mac Pro 12 Core 3.33 Ghz with 32 Gigs of Ram. We're on El Capitan and the PT software is a fresh install fully updated. Converters are a Lynx Aurora 16 (firmware updated) with a Digi 96i/o. We've had the system up and running for about a week.

Overall its great, very powerful rig, except we've been randomly getting a "9093" error code. It happens most often during recording, though sometimes during playback. It happens at all buffer rates and using any configuration of the converters(Aurora alone, 96 clocked to it, external BLA clock). Sometimes we'll get it once in a 5 hour session. Sometimes we'll get it 2-4 times a session.

We're coming from a PTHD 3 Accel system that was so rock solid for tracking, literally don't remember the last time it dropped out. Its really bumming me out that we did this whole upgrade and we're having this problem. Especially because we rent the studio out to outside engineers so it has to run solid. Cant expect outside guys to jump through hoops to get the system running properly.

Can anybody shed some light on how to resolve this? It would be super-ultra-greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2015, 11:15 AM
JB Retro City JB Retro City is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 12
Default Re: Getting 9093 Errors on a new PTHD 12 Native System

Any takers?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2015, 11:29 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,347
Default Re: Getting 9093 Errors on a new PTHD 12 Native System

Well first, it is a little hard to be sure what system you are talking about.

What exact model/date code Mac is this? Clear info would help.

If it is not a trash can....El Capitan? Really? You picked an unsupported OS X version, well known to be causing lots of folks grief with Pro Tools and described all over DUC, and other forums? What blow to the head or other trauma lead you to wanting to inflict all that pain on yourself?

If it is a trash can...(well it can't be PCIe... Unless you have a chassis....) Well you may be screwed into El Crapitan. Good luck...

There are other posts in DUC about AAE-9093 errors and folks finding solutions for them. Some related to periperals, trackpads WiFi devices. So obviously remove all periperals, control surfaces, wifi etc and see if it just works with nothing else connected to the computer.

Also what basic troubleshooting have you tried? Trash prefs, new session, etc. etc. is the computer fully optimized... Every last thing done? Dedicated audio/session drive(s) up to spec? Disk cache turned on? Tried pulling out all third party plugins?

If it is an older pre-trash can Mac and if standard troubleshooting did not quickly show an suspect I would just not piss around. I would get a clean SSD, install a decent supported OS (by pro tools and your interfaces, etc,) on it and then just install Pro Tools and the minimal drivers needed for your interface and *nothing* else and see if that works better.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-28-2015 at 11:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2015, 11:55 AM
JB Retro City JB Retro City is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 12
Default Re: Getting 9093 Errors on a new PTHD 12 Native System

Yes it is a Mac Pro tower (Pre Trashcan) Westmere processor Mid 2010.

Ive tried literally all the things you've suggested except reverting back to an earlier OSX. That's going to be a huge pain in the arse, but I guess there's no other option. Basically this post was to see if anyone had a similar problem and resolved it using El Capitan.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2015, 12:18 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,347
Default Re: Getting 9093 Errors on a new PTHD 12 Native System

It is a relatively rare one (on AAE), so search DUC carefully.

What disk drive is the audio/sessions on? And how is that drive connected to the Mac? (SATA II? FireWire 800? Etc).

And is disk cache really enabled? "standard" is disabled, set it to say 8GB and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2015, 12:51 PM
JB Retro City JB Retro City is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 12
Default Re: Getting 9093 Errors on a new PTHD 12 Native System

Its an Internal Sata drive. I havent played with the changing the disk cashe. I'll try it and see.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2016, 07:17 PM
JB Retro City JB Retro City is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 12
Default Re: Getting 9093 Errors on a new PTHD 12 Native System

SOLVED IT! Just thought I'd follow up for anyone else who runs into this problem and finds this thread. I updated from PT 12.3 to the new 12.4 update and installed a new recommended HD driver and now its running at 100%. Haven't gotten the "9093" error since and its been about a week of constant work. In fact, I'd say its generally running much better overall. The recording latency feels smaller at all sample rates, the system is more reactive at all buffer settings and I feel like the processing power is endless. Haven't choked it yet.

Since everything is playing nicely together at the moment... don't think I'll be updating anything anytime soon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2016, 01:44 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,681
Default Re: Getting 9093 Errors on a new PTHD 12 Native System

Quote:
Originally Posted by JB Retro City View Post
SOLVED IT! Just thought I'd follow up for anyone else who runs into this problem and finds this thread. I updated from PT 12.3 to the new 12.4 update and installed a new recommended HD driver and now its running at 100%. Haven't gotten the "9093" error since and its been about a week of constant work. In fact, I'd say its generally running much better overall. The recording latency feels smaller at all sample rates, the system is more reactive at all buffer settings and I feel like the processing power is endless. Haven't choked it yet.

Since everything is playing nicely together at the moment... don't think I'll be updating anything anytime soon
Hi,

Glad to hear you got it working well now!

Now clone this system drive so you will always have a full working system to boot if you need it.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What does PTHD Native have over PTHD 9 running Natively? acmost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-07-2010 01:06 PM
HW Buffer errors and Mass Confusion! 9093 Errors!! guitarlancer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-08-2007 11:38 AM
-9093 same old errors and I've tried EVERYTHING unclecolly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 03-19-2006 01:02 AM
still getting -9093 errors... EDurney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-28-2002 12:45 PM
still getting -9093 errors stickstome2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-09-2002 11:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com