Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2002, 07:10 AM
Ulfius Ulfius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 22
Default TC System 6000

Beside the Orville, I decided to round out the studio with a TC System 6000 w/Icon. It was a tough call between that and the 960L, but ultimately the 960L was more money for not a whole lot more candy...

Does anyone here use the System 6000 and what are your thoughts on this product?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2002, 10:32 AM
Daniel_Dettwiler Daniel_Dettwiler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: ch 4125 riehen
Posts: 486
Default Re: TC System 6000

Yep I also use the TC6000 often aside the 960 and two Sony 777's.

I'd say that if I really had to give either the 6000 or the Lex away, I would keep probably the Lex 960. The Reverbalgos seemed to be a little more spacious and magic. (And I was only looking for reverb, not for other stuff which the 6000 also provided).

The 6000 verbs are a little more clean, great on Soloinstruments sometime, and a touch more natural, but for natural stuff I anyway tend to use the Sonys...

Both great machines, thats for sure. I was lucky that when I compared them, I could finally both afford

Best
daniel
www.ideeundklang.com
__________________
Daniel Dettwiler
Idee & Klang
www.ideeundklang.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2002, 03:51 PM
tnie tnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Posts: 613
Default Re: TC System 6000

Are all the programs 96k or only a percentage? [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2002, 11:09 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,168
Default Re: TC System 6000

Quote:
Originally posted by Tom N:
Are all the programs 96k or only a percentage? [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Any algo can be run at 96k on the 6000 - chews up twice as much DSP though, so depending on the algorithms you're using you may only get one or 2 96k reverbs going.

best,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14.6, PT 2022.6 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2002, 12:46 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: TC System 6000

It seems from the brochure that most of the 960 programs are 48K only. Is this true, or is there still plently of good stuff at 96?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2002, 02:02 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,192
Default Re: TC System 6000

Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Breen:
Any algo can be run at 96k on the 6000 - chews up twice as much DSP though, so depending on the algorithms you're using you may only get one or 2 96k reverbs going.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Rich, you are correct, but for one exception: the 6000's noise reduction algo, "BackDrop," only works with sampling rates up to 48 kHz.

As for the original question by Ulfius, I'll add to something written by Daniel Dettwiler. Everytime I use a 6000 reverb, I am absolutely impressed its ability to sound full, smooth and lush without blanketing everything else. I guess the adjective I'm looking for is "transparent." The 6000's reverbs never seem to get in the way. And I find that to be true for both stereo and surround.
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2002, 04:30 PM
Daniel_Dettwiler Daniel_Dettwiler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: ch 4125 riehen
Posts: 486
Default Re: TC System 6000

Quote:
It seems from the brochure that most of the 960 programs are 48K only. Is this true, or is there still plently of good stuff at 96?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I am not sure for 100% but I think that everyhting can run at 96kHz in the 960, but it will eat twice as much DSP. So if you work in Stereo you will only have two true stereo reverbs instead of four.

Anyway, right now I work in 44.1 kHz, but I guess that even if I go to 88.2, I'd still use the Reverbs in 44.1, even if I had to get a SRC Gear in between the DAW and the Reverbboxes. For me it is just great to have 4 true stereo Reverbs in the TC6000 and the Lex 960. I don't think that theirs quality will rise if they work at 96 kHz. I see benefits in DAWs, or in Filters, but for Reverbs, I do not see any Point why it should be important that the Gear is running in 96 Khz mode.

daniel
www.ideeundklang.com
__________________
Daniel Dettwiler
Idee & Klang
www.ideeundklang.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2002, 04:49 PM
Hoops Hoops is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 26
Default Re: TC System 6000

You can also run the TC 6000 as 5.1 surround compression, which can be very useful (not sure if 960 does this or not.)

And other dynamics. The reverbs of course are really nice. Very popular here in our studio where we routinely do major film surround mixes. Most pro film mixers that own the TC 6000 also own a 960 (or rent one.)

For my money, if I could only have one---
hands down the TC 6000 for it's flexibility (and studios are less likely to have it than they are the Lexicon... so that's a selling point for your rig which you can bill for.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2002, 05:47 PM
Paul Turpin Paul Turpin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bellingham, WA, USA
Posts: 356
Default Re: TC System 6000

I've been considering a 6000 for a while as well. Although - Altiverb has cooled my heels a little. But alas the 6000 is not just reverb and has far more power than my CPU.

Is anyone here using a 6000 with NO Icon - via the software interface? I would think a digital only 6000 with software interface option would be great and fairly affordable.
__________________
Paul Turpin
Champion St Sound Studios
paul@championstsoundstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-2002, 09:30 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 2,989
Default Re: TC System 6000

I've always been a TC fan and have had quite a bit of experience in the past on a System6000. I used to own (4) M2000's and (2) Fireworx Processors. I've used the M3000's and M5000 quite a bit as well. I also owned a pair of PCM80's and a PCM90. I've used the 300L and 960L. All of these products are good products.... but the System6000 and 960L are the two best IMHO without getting into sampling reverbs. Both have their own strong points and their own weak points. When it comes to pure sound, I think the Lexion is arguably the best..... this is crucial in post work. But when it comes to "musicality", I honestly feel that TC is better. I also like the interface bettr and feel it is more versatile. These are all based on my own preferences and personal experience. IMHO, I think that there is no absolute answer as to which is better..... it really comes down to what flavor one likes best. I love vanilla, don't care for chocolate that much but my best friend loves chocolate and not a big fan of vanilla. It really is all in what you like...
__________________
Thank you,
Brad Lyons
www.howavl.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: TC electronic System 6000 MKII audiocontrol Buy & Sell 8 07-05-2013 11:33 AM
Unwrap PT <-> tc System 6000 thierryd Post - Surround - Video 3 03-06-2007 12:53 AM
Who have tried the TC system 6000 TDM plugins? kinghand Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 09-13-2005 10:38 AM
TC System 6000 integration with PTHD Mixchump Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 03-05-2004 06:26 PM
TC System 6000 and PT? PTstress Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-17-2001 09:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com