Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-23-2009, 05:03 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Hi Brad,

I meant SC 48 mic pre. I edited the original post to make this clearer.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-23-2009, 07:19 PM
digimidi's Avatar
digimidi digimidi is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
Posts: 237
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Just to clarify, the Digidesign PRE is 3 db steps. No digital control.

Gil
__________________
Gil Gowing
Principal
Digimidi Technical Services
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-23-2009, 07:21 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 2,989
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

<-------is going to go stand in da cornuh now cause I feel stoopit!
__________________
Thank you,
Brad Lyons
www.howavl.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-23-2009, 08:24 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Thanks Sheldon and Gil, in case you are willing to share some additional info, what makes a mic pre different in the situation where three consoles share a mic and might all have +48 turned on?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-24-2009, 11:10 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

There are really two issues that come into play...

In a live setting it's not uncommon to split a mic 2, 3 or even 4 ways, all done passively (with wiring and sometimes transformers). In this case the mic is wired in parallel to each console, so the mic pre's input impedance needs to be high enough that this passive split doesn't cause significant signal loss, but not so high that it's susceptible to noise. In the studio the mic is usually only connected to one pre.

Re +48V: on a live gig it's possible to have multiple consoles all feeding phantom power through the passive split (unless transformers are used). In this case, there must be sufficient protection to ensure the multiple +48 V sources don't damage the mic pre. This is done with a simple diode protection scheme.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-24-2009, 01:53 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheldon Radford View Post
There are really two issues that come into play...

In a live setting it's not uncommon to split a mic 2, 3 or even 4 ways, all done passively (with wiring and sometimes transformers). In this case the mic is wired in parallel to each console, so the mic pre's input impedance needs to be high enough that this passive split doesn't cause significant signal loss, but not so high that it's susceptible to noise. In the studio the mic is usually only connected to one pre.

Re +48V: on a live gig it's possible to have multiple consoles all feeding phantom power through the passive split (unless transformers are used). In this case, there must be sufficient protection to ensure the multiple +48 V sources don't damage the mic pre. This is done with a simple diode protection scheme.

Sheldon
Hi Sheldon and thank you for the answer. But are you saying DigiPre input impedance would not suit into this type of situation? (being one of 4 "consoles" lets say in live recording situation?) Also does DigiPre lack of such diode protection scheme?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-09-2009, 11:23 AM
mackerr mackerr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradLyons View Post
Are you saying that the 6dB stepped-gain is on THE PRE (outboard unit) or on the console's pres? I'M CONFUSED NOW!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheldon Radford View Post
Re: the gain step size.
The Mix Rack/SC 48 mic pre uses a combination of analog and digital gain over its full range. The analog gain is relay-switched in 6 dB steps. In between these steps digital gain is then used to give 0.1 dB gain increments. From a user's perspective you have full control of a mic pre from +10 dB to +60 dB in 0.1 dB gain increments (the transitions between analog and digital gain are handled automatically as the gain is adjusted). This hybrid approach gives the best combination of fine control and high quality audio performance.
My bold.

Mac
__________________
Audio plumber since 1976
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omni Pres/Converters vs. Other Pres/Converters Infiltrator Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 01-15-2012 11:28 PM
What's better... BLA 002R Mod Pres or DigiMax FS Pres via Lightpipe? DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-04-2010 08:39 PM
Digi max fs pres vs. 003 pres. KevinAllen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 01-26-2010 06:18 PM
budget tube pres vs. 002R's pres davetron5000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-12-2003 06:04 AM
001 pres or Mackie pres??? QuikDraw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-04-2002 01:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com