Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2020, 02:56 PM
worldareaecho worldareaecho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Neteshin
Posts: 9
Default Avid Control Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock Settings for Logic Pro X

(UPDATED 15.04.2021) Hello. I made settings for Avid Control's Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock for Logic Pro X and decided to share it. Here is a link to the archive to download from Dropbox. There are settings files and instructions in Read Me text file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/yzg3942djq...tions.zip?dl=0 <Привет. Я сделал настройки Soft Keys для Avid Control и Pro Tools Dock для Logic Pro X и решил поделиться ими. Вот ссылка на архив для загрузки из Dropbox. Там файлы настроек и инструкция в текстовом файле "Инструкция".

Last edited by worldareaecho; 04-15-2021 at 09:36 AM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2020, 05:50 PM
sjgam sjgam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: NYC USA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Avid Control Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock Settings for Logic Pro X

Cool - thanks for sharing - few questions:

1. How did you decide on how to sort the soft keys?

2. Noted you set up soft keys for iPad Pro - will it display ok for standard iPad size

3. Did you do anything specific for Logic for the Dock Wheel functions?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2020, 01:57 AM
worldareaecho worldareaecho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Neteshin
Posts: 9
Default Re: Avid Control Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock Settings for Logic Pro X

1. I divided all Logic's key commands into logical categories (naturally in my opinion) and tried to arrange them in such a way as to have quick access to commands related to a specific task, i.e all key commands are at certain hierarchical levels. The highest common level is the home page from which you have access to all levels of Logic key commands. The next level is the main window and the entire first row on the home page related to common commands when working in a project. The second row on the home page refers to local editors. There are two more leftmost buttons on the control surface buttons for local editors. The third row and below, including the control surface buttons, are special commands for different tasks. When you enter the level of the main window or local editors or other sections, the first row of buttons is navigation through this level and exit to the level of the home page, main window or other local editors. In general, I tried to organize the navigation by categories as logically and quickly as possible.

2. On other tablets, everything will also work, but it will look smaller.

3. For the dock wheel I made the settings for how many Logic allows to do this. Forward rewind, zoom, cycle locators, punch-in punch-out locators, move and change the length of regions. How to find out all these settings I wrote in a text file Read Me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2020, 05:37 PM
sjgam sjgam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: NYC USA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Avid Control Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock Settings for Logic Pro X

Thanks for explanation - looks like you put a lot of thought/work into to it.

I was also thinking if it would be useful to see how Avid set up the default soft keys for Pro Tools and map that into the Logic soft key pages/categories/button.

Also thought it might useful to see how Apple sets up Logic Remote again for the soft key pages/categories/buttons and map that into AC/Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2020, 01:08 AM
worldareaecho worldareaecho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Neteshin
Posts: 9
Default Re: Avid Control Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock Settings for Logic Pro X

Thank you for your mark. Yes, I did a little work. It took about six months (the whole quarantine was doing this :) And Avid is not profitable to make advanced settings for Logic, it is beneficial for them that everyone switches to Pro Tools, but for Logic there is a poor set of settings. And Apple in Logic Remote generally has a very low level of customization, at the domestic amateur level.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2020, 06:25 AM
sjgam sjgam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: NYC USA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Avid Control Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock Settings for Logic Pro X

I will download and give it a try - thanks again for sharing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2020, 12:12 PM
worldareaecho worldareaecho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Neteshin
Posts: 9
Default Re: Avid Control Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock Settings for Logic Pro X

I have tweaked the settings and added instructions several times since I posted it all. So if you downloaded for a long time, you can download now with the changes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2020, 10:14 AM
sjgam sjgam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: NYC USA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Avid Control Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock Settings for Logic Pro X

I downloaded your icons and softkeys - can see all the work you have done - over 80 pages of softkeys!

I did notice that the icons and labels are going outside of the boundaries of the soft keys. I have the standard current iPad (9.7 inch).

I attached picture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg soft keys.jpg (75.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2020, 10:49 AM
worldareaecho worldareaecho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Neteshin
Posts: 9
Default Re: Avid Control Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock Settings for Logic Pro X

Yes, I tried to place all Logic key commands, there are several thousand of them. As far as I can see from the picture, the icons look normal, and the text goes over the edges. I thought it would decrease proportionally on tablets with a smaller diagonal, but it is displayed the same way on any diagonal. It is necessary to reduce the font size of the labels for a certain tablet diagonal. They could have been made in 12 sizes as the default, but this is too small a font, not convenient. I chose 21 for the big buttons and 15 for the small ones.

Last edited by worldareaecho; 08-26-2020 at 01:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-04-2021, 01:48 PM
worldareaecho worldareaecho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Neteshin
Posts: 9
Default Re: Avid Control Soft Keys and Pro Tools Dock Settings for Logic Pro X

I updated the settings, added something, fixed something.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S1, Dock, Avid Control Logic Pro X bug Orchook Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 18 06-15-2020 01:29 PM
Avid Control iPad soft keys disappear difonzo Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 11 04-14-2020 03:58 PM
What happend to the Primary Soft Keys Bar on Dock? nedd Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 6 12-23-2019 04:05 AM
Avid S3 + Pro Tools Dock latency with Logic Pro X Angel Xerran Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 0 09-11-2019 10:09 AM
Soft Keys on Dock Don't All Work Logichead Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 1 06-01-2019 08:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com