Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-10-2002, 10:28 AM

Default wife will leave without PTLE

I am new to all this. I cannot even get past the opening screen to open PTLE. I have installed the hardware and the drivers successfully and now I am filled with lots of questions.
here is my 'puter setup and i am sure the snickering will start as soon as I say the word "Compaq AMD" but daaamn it's been such a good system and there has GOT to be a way to make this work.
Compaq presario 7AP135 7000 series
128 mb mem
30 gig HD
The hardware is installed and seems to be working, although I cannot get the pro-tools program to open.
1st - there seems to be a problem with the auto-start on the disc itself (PACE?), but I got the program installed on my system fine. After I reboot, it NEVER asks me for registration first - it just gets hung up...for hours and hours. This is rediculous.
2nd - after rebooting my computer, when I try to open PTLE, it will either hang up enlessly, or it will get to DAE on the load-in bar and freeze, or give me the dreaded DAE 9162 error message....click ok and PT goes away....WTF??!! I cant even get the damn thing to start so I can begin to tweak my system.
Here are my questions:
-Is this my computer? is it that crucial for compatibility? I have NEVER had a program that just WOULDN'T run on my computer. If so this is a crock! And no - I dont care about which system is better. I just want pro-tools and I want to record - I dont want philosophical opinions.
-Is my soundblaster card interfering somehow?
-should I try to build a new hardware profile for startup?