Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2009, 04:47 PM
beyond beyond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 28
Default Help With Recording Drums In Midi Track

After recording the bass kick and snare on a midi track, when I go back and record the hi hat it erases the kick and snare.

How do I go back and record the hi hit without erasing what's already been recorded.

I'm using the keyboard to trigger the high hat. Midi track in PT8.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2009, 05:07 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Help With Recording Drums In Midi Track

turn on MIDI-Merge
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2009, 06:24 PM
miek07 miek07 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plano
Posts: 110
Default Re: Help With Recording Drums In Midi Track

Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond View Post
After recording the bass kick and snare on a midi track, when I go back and record the hi hat it erases the kick and snare.

How do I go back and record the hi hit without erasing what's already been recorded.

I'm using the keyboard to trigger the high hat. Midi track in PT8.

Thanks in advance.
As flommer stated you might want to enable MERGE...

Also, I would strongly suggest you make new TRACKS for different drum parts and then GROUP those tracks.

For example
Tracks ...
Many Drum Modules/parts default to CH10 with a semi-standardized notes for Instrument for example


KICKDRUM MIDICH10 NOTES B and C
SNARE MIDICH10 NOTES D and E
HIHATS MIDICH10 NOTES F# G# A#
TOMS MIDICH10 NOTES F G A B


With this in mind, make a KICK TRACK and Record your KICKS
Make a SNARE TRACk and record your snares HIHAT for HH stc...

Use your Kick track for Automation (CH10)
This gives you a lot of flexibility to manage and mix your drum kits via real time velocity control per track as opposed to manually adjusting one note at a time.


you can also use the SPLIT CHORD to new track function to segregate percussion/drum parts.


michae
myspace.com/miekwavesoundlab
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording Midi Drums EachHit MIDI 8 11-19-2013 05:54 PM
Can't drag midi into midi/instrument track from os or ezdrummer/addictive drums NJ Soul macOS 7 05-28-2011 10:09 AM
Trying to Recording MIDI Drums Dry EjA MIDI 0 01-28-2004 04:49 PM
RECORDING LIVE DRUMS! What Do I Track First?? Big Tyme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-29-2003 12:47 AM
Recording drums first without a click track?????? Sir Bob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-28-2000 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com