Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2021, 10:21 AM
ts1234 ts1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 30
Default Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT

The Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT via control panel on Windows 10. It won't just update it?

Assuming this is an error?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2021, 10:43 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,143
Default Re: Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by ts1234 View Post
The Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT via control panel on Windows 10. It won't just update it?

Assuming this is an error?
Correct. You must manually uninstall it. It is one of the complaints we've been hearing around here for this release. It is often a recommend method to upgrade Protools on Windows.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.5.1 running Protools 2021.6

Last edited by Obsidian Dragon; 04-16-2021 at 09:48 AM. Reason: Corrected from "delete" to "uninstall" to use the correct terminology.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2021, 10:50 AM
ts1234 ts1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 30
Default Re: Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT

Weird as I don't recall this after a couple years of doing it.

Won't that delete all my plugins and settings as well?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2021, 10:46 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,143
Default Re: Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by ts1234 View Post
Weird as I don't recall this after a couple years of doing it.

Won't that delete all my plugins and settings as well?
No. Uninstalling Protools does not delete your plugins.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.5.1 running Protools 2021.6

Last edited by Obsidian Dragon; 04-16-2021 at 09:49 AM. Reason: Changed Deleting to Uninstalling.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2021, 12:56 AM
H-Musikk H-Musikk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 96
Default Re: Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT

I have always done it this way (manually deleting the existing installation). I learned that when I started using PT 9, and have done it ever after...
__________________
Regards
www.h-musikk.no/english.html
Norway
ASUS X99-E, Intel Core i7-6850K, Noctua NH-U9S, Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2133MHz 16GB, Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCIe SSD (System), Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5" SSD (Data), Samsung 850 EVO 1TB 2.5" SSD (Sample), WD Desktop Black 1TB 3.5" (Audio), Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060, Corsair RM750x 750W, Samsung 34" LED Curved, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Lynx AES16e, Aurora 16, Cakewalk by BandLab, Pro Tools 2021
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2021, 06:23 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,827
Default Re: Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT

At the risk of being OCD about terminology, you “uninstall” the program. Don’t ever just delete it! And yes, most of us on Windows got in the habit long ago of uninstalling the previous version first. It takes about 10 minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2021, 08:24 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,870
Default Re: Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT

One thing that trips up many Windows users is that PT will not uninstall from the Apps and Features list. The solution is to go a bit deeper by clicking on the Programs and Features link, which is in the upper right corner of the Apps and Features window. And if you see an option to also remove the HD driver, DO select that option(no matter what hardware you have). Leaving the drive in will fool the installer(making it think PT is still installed)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2021, 08:57 AM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 180
Default Re: Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
At the risk of being OCD about terminology, you “uninstall” the program. Don’t ever just delete it! And yes, most of us on Windows got in the habit long ago of uninstalling the previous version first. It takes about 10 minutes.
Not here. I've been upgrading every version for the last 10 years. Have not had a problem at all doing it this way. Manually deleting and re-installing is a lazy approach in this day and age for the programmers as 99% of programs, heck even Kontakt and Native Instruments can run an upgrade vs having to uninstall and reinstall the program manually. This is really developmental laziness. What I think they are afraid of is the registry values not getting cleaned up properly as well as file location discovery to make sure it all goes back the way it came off. However, other companies train their people to understand and allow for this and to create an update routine which can take this into account.

Also, it's not 10 minutes, it's 20 because this most recent version and the prior version which came out a few weeks ago, require the manual uninstall.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2021, 09:38 AM
ts1234 ts1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 30
Default Re: Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT

Thanks everyone!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2021, 09:50 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,143
Default Re: Pro Tools Installer asking me to manually delete PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
At the risk of being OCD about terminology, you “uninstall” the program. Don’t ever just delete it! And yes, most of us on Windows got in the habit long ago of uninstalling the previous version first.
Yes. The correct procedure is to uninstall, not delete. I updated my previous posts to reflect that correction.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.5.1 running Protools 2021.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
uninstall pro tools 8 manually not 10 but 8 daniel formica macOS 5 12-30-2015 07:17 AM
The installer was unable to launch the PACE system files installer - Help please buzz302 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 02-14-2012 09:05 AM
Manually installing Pro Tools User999 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-06-2010 03:25 PM
How to manually authenticate plug-ins for Pro Tools LE Manish Wayz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-09-2008 04:34 PM
7.3 installer? Does "clean uninstal" delete bombfactory plgs meekz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-03-2007 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com