Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Old 07-18-2011, 05:02 PM

Default Pro Tools documentation

So I'm a full time working engineer.

Though fluent in pro tools I always have a
Copy of the latest pro tools official textbooks(ie 110 201 210 m 310 m)

they are extremely detailed explaining every little software detail as well as different workflow techniques

PROBLEM;
They don't allow you to purchase/own these books unless you pay 1000's for an official protools training course!!!

I do not need a course, just want to utilize the software in the best ways possible.

If I or anyone else wants to become "avid certified" then I would understand being charged

But not for just getting learning material, these are essentially software manuals weather or not they are Phrased as "advanced techniques"

So because of this phrasing "advanced techniques" I now have to buy these from some recording school kid or scrounge around ebay/craigslist just for material that let's face it explains how to utilize different software functions.

I have already contacted avid training they simply told me they are not available for individual purchase and when I replied they hit me with the "we will be out of the office" auto reply, very classy!

Wise up avid this stuff should be in pdfs online for free(perhaps with registered pt copy) and when someone decides to take it to that next step and become certified, then that's when the big bucks are justified
Old 07-18-2011, 05:25 PM