Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2014, 10:19 PM
Analog Kid Analog Kid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 136
Default Failed Installation; Help!

I have purchased a second-hand copy of Pro Tools 9; it's an upgrade for me as I have been (and still am) using LE 7.4.

I have attempted to install Pro Tools 9 from the cd several times; all attempts have not worked. Whenever I attempt to install it, the progress bar will show 3-4 minutes left before completion, and than it will suddenly stop with the error, "The installation failed; there were errors with the installation. You may want to try installing again". What gives?

I have partitioned my hard drive to be a dual boot system. One partition boots from Leopard (and that partition has LE 7.4 installed), the other partition boots from Snow Leopard (and that is where I am attempting to install Pro Tools 9).

I have an Mbox 2, and I have updated the drivers (version 10.3.3, I think).

One other thing that I have noticed is that when I start the installation, a dialog box indicating that some keyboard shortcuts need to be disabled in the Apple System Preferences appears. I have disabled all the keyboard shortcuts that the manual indicates to disable.

The system specifications are:

mid 2007 Aluminum iMac
Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 2.0GHz
4 Gigs Ram
OSX 10.6.8.

Can anyone help? Please?

The Kid

edit: I do have an iLok with the appropriate licenses on it.

Last edited by Analog Kid; 06-06-2014 at 01:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2014, 10:25 AM
Analog Kid Analog Kid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Failed Installation; Help!

Update: I was able to able to do a successful installation. However, I did nothing differently than before; perhaps 5th time's a charm?

The only possible guess I could have, and it's strictly a guess, is that when I had tried before the computer had been on all day and was warm to the touch. When I tried the very last time I had just turned it on after it being shut down for a period of time. Perhaps something in the optical drive warped ever so slightly due to heat; just enough to not track correctly, causing errors during installation? That's just a (far-fetched) guess; I'm not a computer technician by any stretch of the imagination.

Anyhoo, it works.

The Kid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2014, 07:00 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,153
Default Re: Failed Installation; Help!

Glad you got it sorted. You know, its not that tough to swap out the optical drive for a second internal hard drive, and you can always add a USB or FW external optical drive
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2014, 09:07 AM
Analog Kid Analog Kid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Failed Installation; Help!

Thanks. I have actually started to second guess my, "theory", as other dvd's seem to work just fine. Soo suspecting perhaps the dvd itself, just to see what happened, I decided to copy the installer to a usb drive. Sure enough, it got about halfway through copying to the drive and then encountered a bunch of errors.

I guess I will need to purchase a set of replacement discs if I ever need to reinstall PT.

The Kid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2014, 07:18 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,153
Default Re: Failed Installation; Help!

If you are the registered owner of PT9, then you should be able to log onto your "MyAvid" account and download the software
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2014, 11:54 PM
Analog Kid Analog Kid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Failed Installation; Help!

Just saw your reply; I will check out my account. Thanx!

The Kid
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eucon installation failed Uganda Artist Series 0 05-15-2012 10:42 PM
PT 8 Install DVD: Installation Failed bender-offender 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-24-2011 05:19 PM
Installation failed!! dkean Artist Series 1 12-24-2010 05:00 PM
Pro Tools 7.4.2 on Mac OS X 10.5.6: Installation failed crustn Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 8 05-08-2009 02:45 AM
Installation Failed Tamlin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-04-2009 01:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com