Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2009, 08:45 PM
Scorpio253 Scorpio253 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Exclamation Pro Tools crashes on LOAD UP! (after format)

What's up,

I recently formatted my hard drive and now I'm having problems with Pro Tools. As soon as I open it, it crashes. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling but its doing the same thing. I went to "My Digi" to redownload 7.4 but its not in there?... Please help. Thank you.
__________________
MBox 2 Mini
Pro Tools 7.4 - MPTK
Sony VAIO VGN-NR120E
Windows Vista Home Premium
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2009, 09:31 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,362
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on LOAD UP! (after format)

With a fresh install of the OS, you need to perform all the system tweaks again(described in the Getting Started Guide). Update the PACE drivers. You need to have 7.4 or newer as any older version will not run on Vista.(O see you listed 7.4 with MPTK). If you have a copy of 7.4(and its not corrupted), start by uninstalling Pro Tools with your interface disconnected, then reboot. Next, do all the system tweaks and the PACE update and reboot again. Now try running the installer and follow the guide to the letter(not sure if you have it or not, and maybe you didn't remember the setup procedure, so here 'tis). Remember to only attach the interface when the installer asks for it, and remember to ignore the New Hardware Found wizard. I would also not install the MPTK until you have Pro Tools working, and saving a drive image would be a good idea. Speaking of drive imaging, if you had done this a few months ago, your reformat would have been a whole lot easier(I'm not bashing you, just telling the newbies how they can save a lot of hassle). My best advice to all.....have a backup plan, and use a UPS battery backup. 2 things you will NEVER regret.
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2009, 10:40 PM
Scorpio253 Scorpio253 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on LOAD UP! (after format)

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
With a fresh install of the OS, you need to perform all the system tweaks again(described in the Getting Started Guide). Update the PACE drivers. You need to have 7.4 or newer as any older version will not run on Vista.(O see you listed 7.4 with MPTK). If you have a copy of 7.4(and its not corrupted), start by uninstalling Pro Tools with your interface disconnected, then reboot. Next, do all the system tweaks and the PACE update and reboot again. Now try running the installer and follow the guide to the letter(not sure if you have it or not, and maybe you didn't remember the setup procedure, so here 'tis). Remember to only attach the interface when the installer asks for it, and remember to ignore the New Hardware Found wizard. I would also not install the MPTK until you have Pro Tools working, and saving a drive image would be a good idea. Speaking of drive imaging, if you had done this a few months ago, your reformat would have been a whole lot easier(I'm not bashing you, just telling the newbies how they can save a lot of hassle). My best advice to all.....have a backup plan, and use a UPS battery backup. 2 things you will NEVER regret.

Okay thanks a lot. I'll give this a try now. I actually installed Service pack 1, I just uninstalled it to see if that was the issue. Is there any way I could download a new copy of 7.4? Its not in "My Digi" ...
__________________
MBox 2 Mini
Pro Tools 7.4 - MPTK
Sony VAIO VGN-NR120E
Windows Vista Home Premium
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2009, 12:15 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on LOAD UP! (after format)

Have you updated your Pace drivers?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2009, 11:55 AM
Scorpio253 Scorpio253 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Default Re: Pro Tools crashes on LOAD UP! (after format)

I think I fixed it. There was a Hotfix update that I uninstalled and now its loading. Sound familiar?
__________________
MBox 2 Mini
Pro Tools 7.4 - MPTK
Sony VAIO VGN-NR120E
Windows Vista Home Premium
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE 8 crashes when trying to load new or existing session jgerards 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-07-2011 08:26 AM
Pro tools crashes on load screen geekindapink 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-17-2010 11:15 AM
pro tools le 7.3.1 cs 5 session load up crashes streetcorna 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-14-2007 06:03 AM
When I load pro-tools it crashes docholliday 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-24-2005 09:43 AM
When I load pro-tools it crashes docholliday 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-24-2005 07:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com