Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2024, 08:56 PM
bchrismar bchrismar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
Default Copy/Paste - leaving remnants

I'm positive this has been discussed ad nauseam here, but I wasn't sure what wording to use to search for it... so forgive me.

This change started with 23.12 I believe... but essentially, copy/pasting doesn't delete what you're pasting over. Lots of issue leaving blips and remnants. I used to be able to copy a region, plus blank space and wipe out whatever was down the timeline. Now, I have to manually delete what's there before pasting. (Like painting over a painted wall as opposed to a new one)

It's awful. I can't imagine why they did this.

Any fixes for this?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2024, 10:25 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,177
Default Re: Copy/Paste - leaving remnants

Because you want "blank space" to wipe out what is there below? The sections with actual clips still wipes out what they are pasted over.

It's better the way it is now.

If you select irregular length clips by selecting a section over multiple tracks, some of us DON'T want it to wipe out what is below when pasting just because some clips were shorter than clips on other tracks.
Now we can do that.
You can still clear the area that you are pasting over first.
New method allows both options.
Old method does not.
That's beneficial to more users.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2024, 11:37 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,722
Default Re: Copy/Paste - leaving remnants

^ Yes what you want to do is select what's there and use the Clear command (CMD-B / CTRL-B). This will erase what's there but keep your clipboard for you to paste.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2024, 11:42 AM
bchrismar bchrismar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Copy/Paste - leaving remnants

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Because you want "blank space" to wipe out what is there below? The sections with actual clips still wipes out what they are pasted over.

It's better the way it is now.

If you select irregular length clips by selecting a section over multiple tracks, some of us DON'T want it to wipe out what is below when pasting just because some clips were shorter than clips on other tracks.
Now we can do that.
You can still clear the area that you are pasting over first.
New method allows both options.
Old method does not.
That's beneficial to more users.
How do I "clear the area I am pasting over first" with one keystroke like I could before?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2024, 11:52 AM
devinemke's Avatar
devinemke devinemke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: NYC
Posts: 150
Default Re: Copy/Paste - leaving remnants

@bchrismar : Are you perchance in Layered Editing mode?
__________________
Devin Emke
Audio Post Production
Saturday Night Live, NBC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2024, 01:30 PM
bchrismar bchrismar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Copy/Paste - leaving remnants

Quote:
Originally Posted by devinemke View Post
@bchrismar : Are you perchance in Layered Editing mode?
I think that was it! You're a legend.

This option seemed to have toggled on during an upgrade. Never knew it existed, never want to lol.

Thanks for nailing it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copy... Paste... Paste... Paste...? accession 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 01-18-2022 04:18 PM
copy/paste 12.8 Bug! abomeerza Pro Tools 12 5 07-04-2017 07:59 PM
Copy works paste doesnt paste??? SoMedia Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 12 01-04-2011 01:19 PM
Shuffle doesn't shift volumes - copy & paste doesn't copy automation marcnyc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-12-2010 12:46 AM
Copy and Paste? Somebody Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-25-2000 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com