Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-21-2024, 09:26 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 516
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

We still need note names in the MIDI graphic edit window, like every other program has. We've been asking for this for years now. Thanks.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, MacBook Pro 16 (2023) 96 GB RAM, Mac OS Ventura, Samsung SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-21-2024, 09:26 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

35 years ago - Atari ST / Cubase Drum Edit Grid from the 80's :
https://www.muzines.co.uk/articles/steinberg-cubase/137
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-21-2024, 02:45 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,996
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
35 years ago - Atari ST / Cubase Drum Edit Grid from the 80's :
https://www.muzines.co.uk/articles/steinberg-cubase/137

That pic brings back a LOT of memories.

I often think about getting my hands on an old 1040ST and connecting it all up like I did ‘back in the day’ and see what I’d come up with without a DAW.

Would be a fun experiment.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-21-2024, 08:25 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,701
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
That pic brings back a LOT of memories.

I often think about getting my hands on an old 1040ST and connecting it all up like I did ‘back in the day’ and see what I’d come up with without a DAW.

Would be a fun experiment.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ha!!! For me, it was a Commodore 64, purchased new from TOYS-R-US.
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-23-2024, 10:39 AM
Parisstudio Parisstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 331
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

How about fixing the sustain pedal issue? That drives me nuts when punching in and if you don't hit the sustain pedal a few times before you hit record the sustain stays on.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-23-2024, 11:06 AM
gthm's Avatar
gthm gthm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 238
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

"The March release is supposed to be focused on MIDI"

Pro Tools MIDI will be so good that every Ableton Live user will switch to Pro Tools immediately.



(just being silly, I love my Avid family even though our MIDI is a bit archaic )
__________________
Pro Tools 2024.3
macOS 14.4
iMac (24-inch, M1, 2021)
(16GB RAM, 1TB SSD internal)
Samsung T7 x a few
Samsung 980 Pro x 2 (in Acasis TB/USB 4 enclosures)
Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt (my hero)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-23-2024, 12:12 PM
massivekerry's Avatar
massivekerry massivekerry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 675
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

Honestly, I've always found the MIDI usable, but the implementation came in stages years apart and the different processes don't always speak well with each other. It didn't seem like a wholistic approach was always taken during a number of years as the software developed from being a digital recorder and editor to the all-in-the-box dynamo that DAWS these days have become. To be fair, the technology was different and had more limited, specific possibilities and use cases, so if the foundation didn't evolve with (what) the future (ended up being) in mind, it makes sense that it would take some work to shift the underpinnings around, without breaking anything.

I remember VERY clearly when the MIDI became usable with PT 7 in 2005 (to the point where I didn't feel like I had to use Digital Performer for everything any longer) and PT8 (2008) when the MIDI Editor and Event Operations Window were introduced. The "MIDI workflow" still felt like a somewhat separated experience from the audio, although it was better than previously. But the stuff in the Event Operations Window was very much on it's own, and still somewhat feels that way. (I'm still harping on this, but having to click a micro-sized {in 2024} checkbox as the only way to turn Input Quantization on and off seem ridiculous) It has been heartening to see occasional small improvements on that front, like the post-record Quantization shortcuts and Edit Window(s) integrations last year.

I had a funny stumbling block that illustrated things yesterday. I use a fair number of orchestral sample VIs, and a lot of them are best programmed with a negative playback offset (ie - playback starts "before" the note is indicated in the Edit window) to allow for accurate-sounding legato and swells etc. You can set these values on each track using the Real-Time Properties (RTP) view in the Edit Window. There's an online spreadsheet that has been built by composers who use these, as not all values are published by the developer, and often vary between instruments (or even articulations) in a product package. The values listed are in Milliseconds, so that's what I try to use. You can type that in for each track in the RTP view, but you have to switch (by mouse) each to MS (default is Ticks) and switch each (by mouse) to (negative) - delay, instead of the default + delay.

I thought it might be time-saving to use the MIDI Track Offsets window (found under Events Menu) to be able to just type everything in. Not so. First, you can't click and type in the "milliseconds" value field. You have to type in a sample value, and see what it translates to in MS. Not ideal. Secondly, that value does not automatically carry through to (or display) on the RTP view for the track. There's not a whole lot in the manual about the Offsets window, but what is there seems pretty clear that when this feature was implemented, it was to help sync outboard synths (coming in through an audio I/O) with audio tracks - so you could have an audio drum track and a MIDI/synth drum track line up without flamming. That's all fine and I might value it if I was running a big outboard synth rig, but it doesn't address what I wanted to do, and kind of creates confusion in modern/current workflows, because it seems like it should do one thing, but it does a similar thing for something else in a different way.

Sadly, there are still new things, like Sketch specifically, that feel like the same problem - a separate, encapsulated process/workflow that stands independent of, but somehow sort of works with, the main program. Oddly I don't mind Beat Detective being that way.

But I still manage to get work done every day. If I have to occasionally put on an actual engineer cap and track down how a feature actually works or devise a workaround, well I'm glad I came up in a time when that was the norm.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

Mac Studio Ultra : 128GB RAM : Ventura 13.6 : Carbon : PT Ultimate 2023.12 : S1 : Metagrid Pro
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-23-2024, 02:16 PM
skylar_battles skylar_battles is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 314
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

I strongly feel that the main issues are as such:

1. No MIDI or Instrument track playlists
2. MIDI always being a destructive recording process with the exception of MIDI Merge or MIDI Loop Record
3. Fairly bizarre MIDI export process which I'll post a thread about

EDIT: Also no delay compensation for MIDI beat clock but not sure really how that can be addressed.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2024.3.1
MacBook Pro 16"
Apple M2 Pro with 12‑core CPU, 19‑core GPU, 16‑core Neural Engine
32 GB unified memory
1TB SSD storage
Ventura 13.6.4
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-23-2024, 08:50 PM
alzakent alzakent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: NY / LA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

I’d sell my soul for a Tempo Events List window. Studio Vision Pro had it 30 years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-23-2024, 09:57 PM
skylar_battles skylar_battles is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 314
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

In what use case is that helpful for you? Genuinely interested.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2024.3.1
MacBook Pro 16"
Apple M2 Pro with 12‑core CPU, 19‑core GPU, 16‑core Neural Engine
32 GB unified memory
1TB SSD storage
Ventura 13.6.4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can We Persuade Avid to Improve Costumer Support? EBassR Pro Tools 12 1 10-31-2016 02:50 PM
Avid Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver! zion macOS 57 01-02-2015 03:57 PM
Refuse + Midi Keyboard = Crash asiabackpacker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-23-2003 11:44 AM
will improve the midi seq in ProTools LE !? alemc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-25-2000 08:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com