Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2024, 11:55 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,569
Default Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

hi..
Unlike some others, I don't find PT's midi BAD per se, and it's actually quite excellent for external synths, as you can adjust the input delay by the sample for every midi input, which means you can really have tight timing.
And I find the basic piano roll editing to be very easy to use and suit my workflow.

But we are in 2024 and all I want are a couple basic things.

Please tell me if I am being unfair or greedy here, cause maybe I am and I am all wrong about this.

This is where I am lost.

Why won't they add a simple drum grid, like S1, Cubase? It's not rocket science for them to add and would make programming drums so much easier (as long as we can also click rename each drum note on the left of grid).

And just a couple midi plugs like a step sequencer, arp.. even Logic has added these sorts of things years ago.

That's it. That's ALL I want. It would completely transform PT for me to the point I'd actually sell Nuendo and never even TRY another DAW again, and I might even finally invest in a HDX system.

But I have been with PT 4 years now, and they'd done nothing with midi.
I don't get it. The underpinnings are there and are solid, why not just add a couple useful features like midi plugins and a drum track?

I actually haven't bothered to renew, after 4 years, it expired at the end of Dec 2023, and I don't think I will unless I see growth in this area. I mean I have a perpetual so have access to 2023.12 and I can't see the app offering much more for a composer like me at this stage, unless they add some midi features.

Thoughts?
__________________
- Intel 14900K/NzXt Kraken Elite/64GB Kingston DDR5 6000 mhz (32x2)/ Asus Pro Art Z790/Asus 4090/Win 11 Pro 23H2/UAD Apollo 8 x2 w TBolt 3 card u/g/UAD Twin X.

Last edited by TNM; 02-20-2024 at 04:04 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2024, 12:14 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,190
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

The March release is supposed to be focused on MIDI.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2024, 12:41 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,657
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

Renaming keys for drums would be a huge improvement. I'll not hold my breath.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2024, 02:53 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,996
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

https://youtube.com/shorts/VeoB34o6I...oRlfaXPa_4GL0_

There also Sketch.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2024, 04:02 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,569
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

Will check it out, appreciate the replies immensely as I had no idea about any of this.
Well, if 2024.3 is a move in the right direction for this area, I will absolutely restart my sub then. No doubt about it! So glad Avid don't punish anymore and allow me to pay the same 199 even after it has expired (perpetual).
__________________
- Intel 14900K/NzXt Kraken Elite/64GB Kingston DDR5 6000 mhz (32x2)/ Asus Pro Art Z790/Asus 4090/Win 11 Pro 23H2/UAD Apollo 8 x2 w TBolt 3 card u/g/UAD Twin X.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2024, 04:06 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,569
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Renaming keys for drums would be a huge improvement. I'll not hold my breath.
If they do ever add a drum grid, that feature is more or less part of the parcel. I think all DAWs that have a midi drum editor allow rename, otherwise it wouldn't make sense.
For Vi users, with all the gazillion VI's out there, I doubt we are going to get timely updates from every VI dev to provide proper naming to a new drum grid feature lol, so it would be essential to know what each sound is.
__________________
- Intel 14900K/NzXt Kraken Elite/64GB Kingston DDR5 6000 mhz (32x2)/ Asus Pro Art Z790/Asus 4090/Win 11 Pro 23H2/UAD Apollo 8 x2 w TBolt 3 card u/g/UAD Twin X.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2024, 09:49 AM
marianna's Avatar
marianna marianna is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach Florida
Posts: 603
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

Hey Folks.....

I sent this to the product owner heading up our MIDI workflow improvements. Good news is some of this is either done or are things that are somewhere in our mid-term plans 😊

HTH
Marianna
__________________
Marianna Montague
Sr. Dir. CX and Community | Customer Advocate

[email protected]
cell +1 (813) 493-6800
AOL IM avidmarianna
Twitter Avidmarianna


We're Avid. Learn more at www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2024, 10:58 AM
massivekerry's Avatar
massivekerry massivekerry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 675
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
The March release is supposed to be focused on MIDI.
That's quite an assertion. Let's hope.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

Mac Studio Ultra : 128GB RAM : Ventura 13.6 : Carbon : PT Ultimate 2023.12 : S1 : Metagrid Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2024, 11:14 AM
nOrakat's Avatar
nOrakat nOrakat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 56
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

You don't like using the pen tool in the midi editor to insert notes? You can set the grid quantization and the size/length of the notes inserted.

I think the zoom controls in the midi editor can be greatly improved.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.12.0 (64 bit version) on Windows 10 Home, PC: i9 12900K w 32 GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2024, 12:52 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,190
Default Re: Why do Avid refuse to improve the midi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
That's quite an assertion. Let's hope.
Avid have been public about it since sometime last year. No secret (at tradeshows and Avid presentations.) But Mariana's post makes it seem that release might have slipped to the June release.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can We Persuade Avid to Improve Costumer Support? EBassR Pro Tools 12 1 10-31-2016 02:50 PM
Avid Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver! zion macOS 57 01-02-2015 03:57 PM
Refuse + Midi Keyboard = Crash asiabackpacker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-23-2003 11:44 AM
will improve the midi seq in ProTools LE !? alemc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-25-2000 08:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com