Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2024, 04:07 PM
JimmyM's Avatar
JimmyM JimmyM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 142
Default Adda Phasing Dac

Hi guys, i'm following this threqd for quit some time....

I have a question about an issue here.
Whenever I go out analog from any daw, the stereo image changes, it gets less 3d and more mono when coming back in.
I tried this with an Avid HD OMNI, Symphony Mk2 and Antelope HD32Gen3.
I did some tests with a white noise generator in Protools.
Btw, this problem does not only in Protools but Cubase and Wavelab as well.

So I send a white noise generator at -20 as you can see on the pics. Via Aes/Ebu to my Weiss Eq1 the signal stays -20.
Under the noisegenerator I wanted to measure that signal with a plugin, the TC Clarity measured -16.5, this is also whats the analog outs is measured, so not the -20 as on the Weiss or the HeddQ ( also via Aes/Ebu )

In the left Nugen Visualiser is whats coming back analog.
This is an analog roundtrip direct out/in no hw attached.
Tested the cables too, the TC measurement is itb..no io roundtrip.
Im on PT Ultimate 2023.12, Mbp M1 Ventura 13.6.4 Sonnet Chassis with HDX Card.

Btw I tried this also with an iMAc and macbook Air, the results are the same.
Could this be a driver thing or something?
Someone tod me to use balanced power, did that but problem stays the same.

Does anyone has a clue?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2910.jpg (69.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2909.jpg (60.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2024-02-19 at 00.08.23.jpg (49.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Jimmy Makhaisingh
Producer Mix/Mastering Engineer
JimJam Studio

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
PT11HD
HDX /HD i/o
Magma Thunderbolt 2.0 Chasis 3T
Manley Vari-Mu / MPassive Mastering version
Sonnox bundle / McDsp / FabFilter /
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2024, 05:02 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,657
Default Re: Adda Phasing Dac

Not sure what thread you are talking about? A thread on DUC?

There will be nothing here to do with any driver or likely anything else technical like that. You are almost certainly seeing correct measurements of signals. But what signals and what exact measurement is a puzzle to solve.

How accurately calibrated are your analog outputs and inputs?.. you can test at least outputs with a multimeter and sine wave signal gen, ideally while driving the load and hopefully you have nothign here with demanding loads anyhow.

Is the stereo noise correlated or not? That's an area of potential issues and likely a large part of what is confusing things here. Play around and show yourself the difference.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 02-18-2024 at 11:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2024, 11:50 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,184
Default Re: Adda Phasing Dac

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyM View Post
So I send a white noise generator at -20 as you can see on the pics. Via Aes/Ebu to my Weiss Eq1 the signal stays -20.
Under the noisegenerator I wanted to measure that signal with a plugin, the TC Clarity measured -16.5, this is also whats the analog outs is measured, so not the -20 as on the Weiss or the HeddQ ( also via Aes/Ebu )
The TC Clarity is measuring true peak (dbTP). The Weiss and most other things measure RMS. That's why those numbers differ. True Peak is a useless measurement (other than to prevent clipping) for finding a level on a signal that is a sum of multiple sine waves (ie, anything not a pure sine wave) which is why RMS is used.

This has nothing to do with power or driver. It is strictly hardware or user error.
Just measure the phase with a sine sweep. All ADC and DAC have filters (to deal with out-of-bound noise). That affects phase. But if something sounds less "3D" that means the sound isn't decorrelated on return. That could be due to dithering.

Grab REW, loop your DA to AD and measure. Then check your results (phase, noise.)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apogee Rosetta 200 ADDA Converter WestPhillySoulzition Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 06-17-2004 09:25 AM
New Studio Need Pre Amp / AdDa help thelab 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 05-31-2004 05:45 AM
001 & ADDA & Mackie1402 Connections bluhouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-03-2004 11:45 PM
Anyone heard of the Sonifex Red Box ADDA? MikeC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-16-2003 03:46 AM
External ADDA Converters ?!? KaiXXX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 06-14-2002 12:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com