Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2024, 04:55 AM
frenchman frenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochefort (17) France
Posts: 541
Default M2 Max Studio @ Carbon issues

Hi,
I know that Sonoma is not yet qualified with Carbon, but nonetheless I thought my experience might be useful :
I am configuring a Apple Mac Studio M2 Max, and noticed that if I just restart the system, Carbon will not reconnect properly to the network again.
For Carbon to reconnect I have to shut down the mac, restart Carbon (extinguish + start), and then start the Mac.
Obviously the mac restart process does not reinstate correctly the AVB ethernet connection, but worse, it hangs the Carbon internal software, so restart of the Carbon unit becomes necessary before restarting the Mac.
Best regards,
Markl
FYI, I only have the Carbon Ethernet cable directly plugged into the Mac Studio, no hubs boxes or anything.
__________________
Mark Haliday
Engineer, Mixer, Writer, Teacher
Pro Tools Ultimate HDX
Mac Pro 2013 & Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2024, 05:13 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 917
Default Re: M2 Max Studio @ Carbon issues

I don't think this problem is limited to Sonoma - I have seen a simlar problem on and off through Catalina (Mac Pro 2019) and Monterey and Ventura (M1 Max). Something is badly behaved and I'm never sure if it's AVB on the Mac or the Carbon itself.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.6, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2024, 03:13 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 176
Default Re: M2 Max Studio @ Carbon issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
I don't think this problem is limited to Sonoma - I have seen a simlar problem on and off through Catalina (Mac Pro 2019) and Monterey and Ventura (M1 Max). Something is badly behaved and I'm never sure if it's AVB on the Mac or the Carbon itself.

Dominic
I had this a few times and the solution each time was to reinstall the carbon firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2024, 07:54 AM
pm mastering studio's Avatar
pm mastering studio pm mastering studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lebbeke , Belgium
Posts: 174
Default Re: M2 Max Studio @ Carbon issues

I was able to get it to work again after disabling WiFi, than opening ProTools.

maybe this could help for you too ?
__________________
Philippe Meiresonne
(Belgium)

http://www.pm-mastering-studio.com

SYSTEM 1 : Main recording - HDX MAC Pro 2023 M2 Ultra Running Sonoma 14.4
ProTools Ultimate 2024.3| 1xHDX Card | Mac Pro M2 Ultra 128Ram 2TB|3x PRE | 2x Avid 96 |1x Avid 192 I/O 16/16 Analogue | 1x Acid HD I/0 16/16 Analgue
Midi I/O | D-Command ES +16 fader Pack | Xmon | Eleven Rack + Dolby Atmos 7.1.4 Surround Adam S3H speaker System

System 2 : Project System - ProTools CARBON Running Sonoma 14.4
MacStudio M2 Ultra |64 GB RAM | ProTools 2024.3 Ultimate/Studio | SSL2+ | AVID S1+DOCK + ProTools|Carbon + ProTools|Carbon PRE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Studio and Carbon stack alexproshak Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 8 12-06-2023 07:44 PM
Physical connections between MTRX Studio & Carbon Pre’s [email protected] Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 5 11-24-2023 05:29 AM
Protools Studio Carbon digiot Licensing & Accounts 3 06-20-2023 06:50 PM
Protools MTRX studio or Carbon power on switch Sutee Sangsareechon Pro Tools 3 03-11-2023 09:55 AM
Carbon PT Studio Perpetual License MoogProphet Pro Tools | Carbon 5 01-17-2023 02:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com